Nourished Life Gratitude List 2015 – Week Thirty-Seven

This weekend I have had a whole weekend at home. Two full days of just being in my house (and at the gym) doing whatever the winds drove me to do within my own four walls. Mostly it was cooking, and napping, and bingeing on ‘Longmire‘. It has been absolutely perfect and just what Chris and I needed after a busy two weeks. There has been a lot to be grateful for over the last seven days, here is my Thoroughly Nourished Life Gratitude List 2015 – Week Thirty-Seven:

Monday: Tonight I headed to the hospital after work for my iron infusion – gotta get juiced up before we go on our holidays! I’m currently having some more tests to figure out why I can’t hold onto iron (and no, it’s not because I’m a vegetarian). I am grateful for the care of the doctors and nursing staff while I’m having my infusion, and for the lovely orderly who brought me a cappuccino! When I got home Chris and I went for a great sunset walk around the neighbourhood. wk 37 coffeeTuesday: Tonight Chris and I did some more holiday planning. We booked a helicopter ride through the Grand Canyon and an airboat tour through the Louisiana swamps! Only three weeks to go now. We are grateful for the opportunity to go on an amazing holiday and have adventures together. wk 37 nolaWednesday: Tonight after work Chris and I went to the gym together and I had an amazing run. Then we came home, made a big healthy roast veggie dinner, and snuggled up in bed to do our grocery shopping. Sometimes in the quiet moments just before I fall asleep I wonder at the contentment I feel on those ordinary days, and I am grateful for my extraordinary happy life.wk 37 dinnerThursday: Today was R U OK? in Australia. This is an important day for me as I have had bouts of depression since I was a teen. Sometimes all it takes is for someone to ask genuinely “are you okay?” for the world to change back to blue skies again. You never know how much you will touch someone’s life or who you can save just by asking if they are okay. I am grateful for the love and support of friends and family who have helped me build a healthy mental foundation and who pick me up when I fall.

Friday: Tonight Chris and I absolutely conquered this whole ‘adult life’ thing. We hit up the gym after work and smashed our relative workouts, then we came home and cleaned the whole house (no housework on the weekends – heck yes!), and then I baked muffins while Chris relaxed. I was grateful for a power Friday night to kickstart our weekend. wk 37 muffinsSaturday: Wow! This morning I slept in until 9:30! That is super late to me, but I didn’t feel guilty in the least. I woke up and padded downstairs to start my weekend of cooking. Today I made and photographed three recipes, ate lots of tasty morsels and got lots of new ideas for new recipes to share with you all. Tonight Chris attended a party while I went for a run at the gym. It was one of the hardest runs I’ve had in a while, but the bad ones make the good ones even better. I can’t wait until my body is feeling stronger again and I’m hitting faster times. Just gotta keep putting one foot in front of the other! I’m grateful for a Saturday dedicated to whatever I wanted to do. Oh, and the homemade veggie burger that hit the spot after my awful run.wk 37 smoothieSunday: Today I woke up super early! I headed out for a long walk around our new neighbourhood. I discovered a beautiful park hidden amongst the suburban streets and enjoyed the peace in the middle of the hustle. Today was another long day of cooking, and I was grateful to get some recipes made to share with you all over the coming weeks. I was also grateful for a long afternoon nap while the spring breezes played through the house. Tonight is all about leftovers, Longmire, and lounging on the couch.wk 37 recipe testingAlso this week:

5 thoughts on “Nourished Life Gratitude List 2015 – Week Thirty-Seven

  1. I love Longmire!! Ant and I are addicted to it, I’ll be sad when it’s over (so glad Netflix picked it up for another season).

    Glad to hear about your productive week – iron infusion sounds full on though! Really liking the look of all that delicious food too 🙂

    • SO happy that Netflix kept it going – I’ve got my fingers crossed for a season 5 (please, please, please Netflix gods!).
      Had a great week! Iron infusions aren’t comfortable but at least they only take an hour now rather than the eight that they used to!

  2. Ok, first of all… You are going to LOVE the Grand Canyon… But a helicopter ride?! HOLY WOW, I think that would make it the most enjoyable experience ever. Seeing the Grand Canyon was one of the top 10 coolest things Matt and I have ever done together. You think you know how big it us until you see HOWWWW big it is. It’s breathtaking. I think you’re going to love it! Will you be going to that before or after you come see us? I will want to hear all about it!!

    I think it’s so great that Australia has a day dedicated to mental heath. You know this year has been tough for me, and a few weeks ago, a friend of mine who really knew exactly what I was going through asked me sincerely “are you ok?” Deep down, I was not… And I think that spilling all of that to her jolted my healing, and I feel like a brand new person, ready to tackle this adventure again.

    Anywayyyyyy, I am super excited about your muffins! Not only are they so pretty, but I know they are bound to be ultra delicious based on our Facebook comments! Eeeeek!

    Enjoy your week, friend! Apologies for the novel comment… 😉 xoxo

    • I have been lucky enough to do the helicopter trip before actually 🙂 and it was one of the most amazing experiences of my life, which is why I had to take Chris there when we went back. I can’t wait! We are going to Vegas as our last stop on the trip – it’s our budget blow out stop 😉

      Mental health still has such a stigma around it, and it’s important to me that we can talk about things like this openly. Having someone ask you if you are genuinely okay, and being able to say ‘No actually I’m not’ is such an important part of taking care of your whole person. I’m glad you have someone you can reach out to, and that you are feeling ready to step into your next adventure.

      You are going to LOVE these muffins Lynn!

Please share your thoughts

