Spicy Chickpea Tacos with Coriander Guacamole | Gluten Free | Vegan

Spicing up weekday meals is easy with these Spicy Chickpea Tacos. Filled with chickpeas, sundried tomatoes, capsicum and onion and finished with a lime and coriander spiked guacamole, these prove that everyday food can be super special too.Spicy Chickpea Tacos with Coriander Guacamole | Gluten Free | Vegan | Thoroughly Nourished LifeOur house is filled with half-stuffed boxes, Mum and Dad have more boxes ready for me at their house, I have lists upon lists in every conceivable place, and our keys are probably being cut right this moment! That’s right! We are almost on the move! Thank you all so much for listening to me get excited about the events of the next few weeks for the last eighteen months. Thank you for coming along for the ride, and all the encouragement you have given us along the way. There is always a spare seat at the table.Spicy Chickpea Tacos with Coriander Guacamole | Gluten Free | Vegan | Thoroughly Nourished LifeOf course, getting prepared to move – and filling in all the paper work – no one warned me about all the paperwork! And having marathon meeting days at the office leaves very little time for thinking about dinner. I am happy with salad most nights when I have been busy, but there are nights when I want my leaves wrapped in a corn taco, my chickpeas seasoned heavily with spices, and a big dollop of creamy, coriander and lime scented guacamole right on top. These tacos are essentially one of my favourite salads wrapped up in a gluten free corn taco for easy handheld convenience – no fork necessary, which is a good thing because I think they’re next on the packing list!Spicy Chickpea Tacos with Coriander Guacamole | Gluten Free | Vegan | Thoroughly Nourished LifeNot only are these tacos super easy to eat, they are a snap to prepare and super healthy! You can have these on the dinner table in under 30 minutes, which makes them perfect for quick weeknight meals. These gluten free, vegan tacos are packed with lean protein (chickpeas), heaps of veggies, and healthy fats (avocado) these are a healthy fast food option for when you want dinner on the pronto without sacrificing your healthy eating goals. Let’s review: easy to eat, easy to make, packed with healthy ingredients. Oh and what about flavour?Spicy Chickpea Tacos with Coriander Guacamole | Gluten Free | Vegan | Thoroughly Nourished LifeWe start with a plain corn taco. Not much to see here, but a great foundation for layering our flavours onto. Add some fresh, crispy lettuce. I used baby cos – bright, green, and crunchy! We sauté canned chickpeas with capsicum, spring onions, garlic, sundried tomatoes, chilli flakes, cumin, and paprika – this chickpea is filled with the best savoury and spicy flavours! And the crowning glory of this flavour creation: creamy avocados, whipped with garden fresh coriander and a squeeze of lime juice. These tacos might be simple, but they hit every flavour and texture note required for true satisfaction: crispy, creamy, salty, savoury, sweet. My Spicy Chickpea Tacos with Coriander Guacamole have it all!Spicy Chickpea Tacos with Coriander Guacamole | Gluten Free | Vegan | Thoroughly Nourished Life

Spicy Chickpea Tacos with Coriander Guacamole

Gluten Free | Vegan | Serves 2

Note: I served mine with some grated cheese. If you are vegan, leave this out or use your favourite ‘cheese’ product.

Ingredients

  • 1/2 tablespoon olive oil
  • 400 gram can chickpeas, rinsed thoroughly
  • 1/2 medium red capsicum, diced into small pieces
  • 2 spring onions, white and light green parts thinly sliced
  • 2 cloves garlic, peeled and thinly sliced
  • 1/4 cup sundried tomatoes, roughly chopped
  • 1/2 teaspoon smoked paprika
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
  • Pinch of chilli flakes (optional)
  • 1 medium avocado, peeled and diced
  • 1/3 cup (packed) coriander leaves
  • Juice 1 lime
  • 1/2 small red onion, peeled and chopped
  • Salt and black pepper

To serve

  • 4 small (6 inch) soft corn tacos, heated
  • 1 small baby cos (or other crispy green salad leaves)
  • Grated cheese (optional)

Method

  1. Heat olive oil in a medium frying pan over medium heat. Add capsicum and garlic and saute until capsicum is softened.
  2. Add chickpeas, spring onions, sundried tomatoes, paprika, cumin, and chilli flakes (if using). Cook, stirring, until chickpeas are warmed through.
  3. While chickpeas are cooking, make guacamole. Place avocado, coriander, lime juice, and onion into a small food processor and process until avocado is mostly smooth. I leave a few chunks for interesting texture. Salt and pepper to taste.
  4. To serve, place a taco on your plate, top with lettuce, chickpea mixture, guacamole, and cheese (if using).

Spicy Chickpea Tacos with Coriander Guacamole | Gluten Free | Vegan | Thoroughly Nourished LifeSo, dear reader, any smart packing tips? Any favourite taco flavours?

 

21 thoughts on “Spicy Chickpea Tacos with Coriander Guacamole | Gluten Free | Vegan

  1. Yum! We try and eat meat-free at least a couple of times a week, so I’m always on the lookout for yummy recipes. These look AMAZING!!! Mind you, I’d have to force myself from not eating the chickpeas straight from the tin… love them!

    • I am a chickpea from the tin girl too! They are tiny morsels of deliciousness! It is worth saving some for these tacos though – super quick and super yummy 🙂

    • Meg you will love these! I am a chickpea girl too – they make up most of my protein 🙂 and there are so many delicious ways to prepare them! Keep an eye out this week for another chickpea centred recipe 🙂

  2. Seriously, you’re a superhero. Trying to make proper meals and move house at the same time is a major accomplishment. How exciting though to finally get to live in your new home. These tacos are full of some of my favourite things and a really wouldn’t mind eating them surrounded by packing boxes, sitting on the floor… or anywhere else for that matter.

    • We are so lucky that our packing doesn’t have a deadline and I don’t mind doing it actually 🙂 I have good incentive though, and so many tacos to get me through!

  3. I love this recipe! I’ve been trying to add more fiber to my diet lately and all the chick peas in this dish would do the trick! Plus I love that I could also sub in other kinds of beans for even more goodness. Love it!

  4. Packing to move is theeeeeworsttttttt. I hate moving. I keep telling Matt we are never moving again, and if we do, it has to be a huge house because it has to last us until we die. Anywayyyyyy, I love your bright and beautiful photos! Plus, anything with guacamole has my attention, 110%!

    • I don’t mind packing actually! We renovated at Mum and Dad’s so many times that it was like moving so I’m kind of okay with it 🙂 And I’m finding heaps of things I forgot I had – new props!
      These tacos are 110% delicious for sure!

  5. Ugh, I hate packing. It seems like everyone is moving right now!!
    But these tacos would get me through anything..even moving. I am a sucker for anything with chickpeas in it 🙂

  6. Pingback: Nourished Life Gratitude List 2015 – Week Twenty-Seven | Thoroughly Nourished Life

Please share your thoughts

