Nourished Life Gratitude List 2015 – Week Nineteen

I cannot believe it’s Monday morning again already! Last week was so full of celebrations and amazing things that the days flew past. I was reflecting on something I read recently ‘the days are long, but the years are short’. I think that reflecting on what I am grateful for everyday helps me to see what I have achieved each day, or a special moment that has brought me pause among the busyness of life so that I really see the day before it goes zooming past. So if you can, take a moment during the day when you can sit quietly, commuting makes this easy sometimes, and just let yourself really remember something good or special that happened to you during the day. Here is what I have been reflecting on, and grateful for, this week in my Nourished Life Gratitude List 2015 – Week Nineteen:

sprinkle cupcakeMonday: Monday night power run tonight! I felt so well rested and ready to move that I got in 8km to start the week. I am always grateful for a run that leaves me sweaty, short of breath and smiling. I remember the days when running wasn’t high on my agenda and I am grateful for this body and the way it makes a celebration of movement now.

Tuesday: Today I had a big chat to Mum at lunch time while I was at work. I’m not always the best at picking up the telephone so I’m trying to make more of an effort. I was grateful to talk to her about this and that and all in between and just take a mental break from work.

big fat saladWednesday: Today was Chris’s birthday! Everyday I wake up next to this wonderful man and I am grateful for the day he came into my life, and all the days we have spent together since. He is my greatest adventure and best friend and I am grateful that his heart rests with mine.

Chris and Amy birthdayThursday:  Today I found out that a cinema in the city is playing Monty Python and The Holy Grail! My Dad and I love Monty Python so I booked us in for a Dad-Daughter date! I can’t wait to share some laughs with my wonderful Dad in a few weekend’s time. I’m grateful that I live so close to my parents so that we can spend moments like this together.

Friday:  Tonight Chris and I headed out the movies (Gold Class ooh la la) to see The Avengers: Age of Ultron. It was so so good! We lay back and enjoyed our fancy date night and laughed and wondered at the movies. I was grateful we could treat ourselves and enjoy a night out together at the end of the week and to celebrate Chris’s birthday.

sconeSaturday: Today was packed with great things! The morning started with a market trip with my ladies, and then a heart-racing 9.5km run. When I got home Chris and I headed out to get his beard all fancied up for his birthday party tonight (he’s a hipster, but in a totally not-ironic way…). We got home and I entered a cupcake making frenzy; when the icing sugar settled I had two successful recipes and lots of cupcakes to share! Tonight we headed to our friend Nick’s place to enjoy Chris’s birthday celebration. Laughter, board games, and frosting smiles followed. I was grateful that my darling had a good time with his friends for his birthday.

Sunday: This morning was not my finest hour as a human. I stressed myself way out and I was grateful that Chris calmed me down. After some tears and snuggles (I was one tired lady) we headed over to celebrate my Mum (and aunty and grandmother) for Mother’s Day. I will never be able to show enough gratitude for all this wonderful lady has done for me, and my greatest tribute will be to strive to live a life worthy of the love that has nurtured me. After morning tea we headed out to Chris’s parents place for a surprise visit to Chris’s Mum. Because they live two hours away we don’t get to visit as often as we would like. We didn’t tell Ruth that we were coming, but the rest of the family knew. She was so surprised and delighted by our unexpected visit that it was well worth the travel. I am grateful to my (kind of) ‘mother-in-law’ for making me feel so welcomed into and part of their family. I was also grateful to Chris who did most of the long haul driving despite our late Saturday night. When we got home we fell into bed exhausted but grateful for a love-filled weekend.

Mother's DayAlso this week:

  • We celebrated Chris’s birthday with Sprinkle Birthday Cake Cupcakes with Vanilla Buttercream – there were none left over, which is always a good sign!
  • Mum and Jess and I enjoyed leftover scones for breakfast on Saturday morning. They made the perfect market fuel.
  • My amazing friend Lynn’s cookbook is available for pre-order! More than 20 recipes for puppy chow! I cannot wait to get my copy!

 

8 thoughts on “Nourished Life Gratitude List 2015 – Week Nineteen

  1. Oh you lovely thing. I am so sorry to hear you’ve been stressed out too, I was the same at the beginning of last week. I just snuggled into Aaron’s chest and stayed there for about an hour before facing the day (thank goodness for understanding family and partners!). We saw the new Avengers flick last weekend too. So good!
    Sending you heaps of hugs, glad that you are surrounded with love (you are SO worth it, it’s always a spark of warmth and love coming over to visit your blog) xxx

    • Thank you so much Laura for your kind words 🙂
      Understanding family and partners are just what the world needs more of some days. I feel sorry for poor Chris having to deal with the anxious mess I am sometimes, so I just make him more cupcakes or bacon and pay it forward 🙂

Please share your thoughts

