Pumpkin Oat Walnut Chocolate Chip Cookies | Gluten Free

These Pumpkin Oat Walnut Chocolate Chip Cookies are soft and chewy with oats, studded with dark chocolate chips and toasted walnuts, and warmly spiced with cinnamon and ginger. A perfect dozen cookies just waiting for your cookie jar.

Pumpkin Oat Walnut Chocolate Chip Cookies | Gluten Free | Thoroughly Nourished LifeSometimes I just want a small batch of cookies. An appropriate number of cookies to keep in a house with only two people who are trying to maintain the illusion of eating healthily most of the time. You know what I mean. But in the midst of all that healthy eating do you ever come home from a long day at work following a morning workout and just want to eat cookies? I do, and I know you do too. These cookies are coming to our rescue. These cookies are our midweek cookie friends. No need to deal with 24, 36, 48 cookies in the cookie jar – this recipe makes a perfect dozen. Just the right amount to keep around the house for a treat or two during the week, or a sweet surprise in your darling’s lunchbox.

Pumpkin Oat Walnut Chocolate Chip Cookies | Gluten Free | Thoroughly Nourished LifeYou know I’m a fan of oatmeal cookies: we’ve had them chewy and studded with dried blueberries, and crispy with caramel chips. But I think these pumpkin and spice oatmeal cookies are my favourites ever. Ever. They are chewy, super chewy, and I recommend keeping them in the refrigerator for maximum chewiness. And they are filled with cinnamon, ginger, and nutmeg to bring warmth and compliment the brown sugar sweetness of these cookies.

Science time: the moisture content of these cookies is increased by the use of brown sugar, and only the yolk of an egg. There is no need for a full egg, just the egg yolk. Egg yolk protein once cooked makes for a denser, fudgy cookie. These two ingredients (brown sugar and egg yolk) are also the tenderisers, the moisture-boosters, in our perfect chewy oat cookies. Choosing baking soda as the leavening ingredient reacts with the acid in brown sugar and allows for the cookies to rise, but keeps them dense rather than cakey. So brown sugar + egg yolk + baking soda = dense, chewy, fudgy oatmeal cookies. Yay cookie science!

Pumpkin Oat Walnut Chocolate Chip Cookies | Gluten Free | Thoroughly Nourished LifeAnd then come the mix-ins. Gluten free quick oats bind the batter together and give extra chew. But the best bits, the most scrumptious, hunt-through-the-batter bits are toasted walnuts and dark chocolate chips. You could of course use milk chocolate, but the dark chocolate stands up well next to strongly flavoured toasted walnuts and the spiced cookie dough. And they just feel a little more indulgent. If you are going to make a tiny, every day kind of treat, you should make it as indulgent as possible. Enjoy this perfect dozen cookies for your next midweek cookie treat.

Pumpkin Oat Walnut Chocolate Chip Cookies | Gluten Free | Thoroughly Nourished LifePumpkin Oat Walnut Chocolate Chip Cookies

Gluten Free | Makes 12 cookies

Notes:

  • You need to chill this dough for an hour before baking. This is important to obtaining the perfect texture.
  • To make pumpkin purée: peel and chop about 3/4 cup pumpkin. Place in a microwave safe bowl with a small amount of water and microwave in 2 minute bursts until the pumpkin is soft all the way through. Cool completely and blend until smooth.

 

Ingredients

  • 30 grams buckwheat flour
  • 30 grams sorghum flour
  • 30 grams white rice flour
  • 1/3 cup gluten free quick oats
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 60 grams (1/4 cup) butter, softened
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoons caster sugar
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/3 cup pumpkin purée
  • 1/3 cup chocolate chips
  • 1/3 cup toasted walnuts, chopped

Method

  1. In a small bowl whisk together buckwheat flour, sorghum flour, white rice flour, quick oats, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, ginger, and nutmeg.
  2. In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment (or in a large bowl using a hand mixer) beat butter, brown sugar, and caster sugar together until pale and fluffy.
  3. Add egg yolk, vanilla extract, and pumpkin and beat until well combined.
  4. Reduce speed to low and add whisked dry ingredients. Mix until completely combined.
  5. Switch to a wooden spoon and mix in walnuts and chocolate chips.
  6. Chill dough for at least an hour.
  7. Preheat oven to 180C (350F) and line two baking sheets with baking paper.
  8. Roll tablespoonfuls of dough into balls and place on lined baking sheets. Leave space for spreading.
  9. Bake for 12-15 minutes or until the edges are golden. The centres will still be soft (this makes for chewy cookies). Remove and cool completely on baking sheets.
  10. Store cookies in refrigerator for maximum chewiness for up to four days.

Pumpkin Oat Walnut Chocolate Chip Cookies | Gluten Free | Thoroughly Nourished Life

21 thoughts on “Pumpkin Oat Walnut Chocolate Chip Cookies | Gluten Free

  1. Sign me up, I’ll take a dozen. These look and sound delish. All those lovely warm spices plus chocolate, mmmmmm… Twelve cookies is a perfect number. I get a bit scared when I see recipes for 48 cookies. Forty eight cookies in my cookie jar at any one time is dangerous territory. Plus, there are so many cookies out there to try, I don’t want to use up all my brownie points (cookie points), on too many of the same sort.

    • My sentiments exactly! I want to try aaaalllll the cookies, and 48 takes way too long (or sometimes way too short) a time to finish off. So happy with a smaller batch success. Now I need to find out what next to use my cookie points on 🙂

  2. One dozen cookies is exactly how many we need to keep around our house too – or else we’ll eat them all in one day (we’re dangerous around cookies). Especially cookies like these! Pumpkin + walnut + chocolate + oatmeal? Swooooon.

    • Cookies are always my downfall. Oh I’ll just have one… So here we go – damage control enacted!
      I loved this combination of ingredients – bring on the autumn baking!

  3. oh same here! Neither of us can be trusted with sweets! Loving the autumnal flavours in these Amy, all spicy, soft and warm and such. Perfect for those tea times.

    • I have to get any treats out of the house as soon as possible! Both of us have very happy workmates 🙂 I love these cookies and I can see many mini-batches in our future 🙂

  4. Ok, Amy… We have a problem. You know how I feel about pumpkin, and you know how I feel about oatmeal cookies. And to have a recipe that only makes a dozen? BIGGGG PROBLEMMMMM. Pumpkin knows no season to me, and I wouldn’t put it past myself to whip up a dozen of these bad boys soon… WHYYYY must you do this? Also, nice work with the cookie science. A lot of my favorite things all around! 🙂

    • HAHAHAHAA (that’s my evil genius laugh) now you will have to make cookies 🙂
      I hope Matt would leave you at least a few cookies from the dozen 😉 Thanks for the science kudos! I found my old food science textbooks the other weekend and I have been nerding out 🙂

    • Thanks Kathy! The first one I tried ended up IN the milk – the sacrificial baker’s reward cookie 😉 Let me know if you make these for your sister and if she likes them!

    • Thanks Jessica! I always get excited seeing pumpkin in baked goods thanks to our US friends, and I thought – I need to make this happen 🙂 Now Chris and I can enjoy cookies without having to commit to eating 48 of them – it happens!

  5. Pingback: Nourished Life Gratitude List 2015 – Week Nine | Thoroughly Nourished Life

Please share your thoughts

