Cookbook Wish List

I have a cookbook obsession. I’m not ashamed to admit it. Put pretty photos of food, lots of luscious food words, and sprinkle it with recipes onto some pages and I become entranced. Cookbooks are the reason I love blogs, and blogging. The book never ends; there is always a new post to read from one of my favourites.

But the original obsession remains. We have teetering towers of cookbooks in a pile in nearly every room of the house – kitchen, bedroom, spare bedroom (currently functioning as a library/wardrobe), dining room… The list goes on. Nothing comforts me, or excites me, as much as flipping through the pages of a cookbook – a new discovery or an old friend. I dream about meals I’ll cook when we move into our new house and can entertain our friends (our current house is a leeeetle too small); I get inspired to create recipes for the blog; or I just lose myself in the perfectly placed lettuce leaves or stacks of cookies. It’s my happy place.

So here is my current cookbook lust list – watch out credit card! (sorry Chris…)

Flavor Flours – Alice Medrich 

Alice Medrich - Flavour FloursAlice is one of my heroes. Each of her cookbooks is a masterful study of the subject she chooses, and I am so glad that her latest cookbook is focuses on all the flours I love to cook with! Recipes like ‘Brown Rice Sponge Cake with Three Milks’; ‘Buckwheat Sour Cream Souffles with Honey’; ‘Hazelnut Layer Cake with Dark Chocolate Frosting and Blackberry Preserves’; and ‘Nibbly Walnut Shorties’ have me hoping this book will be on my bookshelf very soon!

Baking Chez Moi: Recipes From My Paris Home to Your Home Anywhere – Dorie Greenspan

Dorie Greenspan - Baking Chez MoiA Sunday in Paris with Dorie would be a dream come true for me. I have pored over ‘Baking: From My Home to Yours‘ so many times that I feel like I could be right at home helping Dorie make sables, or Katherine Hepburn Brownies. But, alas, I think I’m going to have to make do with baking a ‘Sunday in Paris Chocolate Cake’ to eat while reading her latest masterpiece, or perhaps whip up a batch of ‘Chocolate-Covered Toffee Breakups’, or share a ‘Berry and Pistachio Gratin’ with friends and create my own Paris moment.

Gluten-Free Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day – Jeff Hertzberg, MD and Zoë François

Jeff Hertzberg and Zoe Francois - Gluten Free Artisan BreadOh, bread. It’s not that I miss you everyday, but on a Sunday morning I would love a thick, yeasty slice cut fresh from a steaming loaf and spread generously with butter and jam, gold and scarlet bleeding down into fluffy white; or a luxuriously seeded wedge to pair with cheese and soup for a midwinter’s feast. Ah. Now, thanks to the genius pair behind the Bread 5-Minutes a Day series of books, we gluten-free peoples can live our bready dreams again. Also, gluten free Brioche filled with Chocolate Ganache – take me there.

The Einkorn Cookbook – Shanna and Tim Mallon

Shanna and Tim Mallon - The Einkorn CookbookShanna and Tim are the gorgeous couple behind the beautifully written and photographed website ‘Food Loves Writing‘ and this is their first cookbook (they are currently also working on a little Mallon to join the family!). Although I can’t eat einkorn, I am always looking for alternative grains to feed my friends and family and I just know they will love recipes in this book ranging from Cannoli Cupcakes to Lamb-Stuffed Peppers.

A Change of Appetite – Diana Henry

Diana Henry - A Change of AppetiteI love Diana Henry’s cookbooks they are filled with gorgeous photos and the recipes are saturated with flavour, but sometimes they can be a little too heavy for our hotter climates and my skinny jeans/bikini. This book is filled with what Nigella Lawson has deemed ‘templefood’ – a lighter, more wholegrain, more Thoroughly Nourished kitchen way of eating. I already love the cover of the book (artichoke art always gets me) and I can tell I am going to love the book with recipes like: ‘Red Lentil and Carrot Kofte’; ‘Berry and Hibiscus Sorbet’; and ‘Bulgarian Griddled Courgettes and Aubergines with Tarator’. Definitely a must for the Thoroughly Nourished Life kitchen.

At Home in the Whole Food Kitchen: Celebrating the Art of Eating Well – Amy Chaplin

At Home in the Wholefood Kitchen - Amy ChaplinAmy Chaplin is a vegetarian chef (and an ex-pat Aussie!) and this book is both an education and a celebration of the bounty a vegetarian diet offers. I can’t wait to try ‘Roasted Fall Vegetable and Cannellini Bean Stew’; or ‘Curried Socca with Cilantro Coconut Chutney’; or the decadent ‘Dark Chocolate Truffle Tart with Brazil Nut Crust’. Another must for my bookshelf – soon!

Flourless: Recipes for Naturally Gluten-Free Desserts – Nicole Spiridakis 

Nicole Spiridakis - Flourless

As you know, this blog focuses on gluten free baking using naturally gluten free flours rather than commercially-made gluten free flour. This book from Nicole Spiridakis (the talented writer behind the blog Cucina Nicolina) is centred on that very same ideal: using naturally gluten free flours to create stunning, tasty desserts for sensitive tummies. Nicole supplies such treats as: ‘Mexican Hot Chocolate Cake with Milk Chocolate Buttercream Frosting’ and ‘Salt-Dusted Lavender-Lemon Cookies’. Someone pass me my apron and some butter – stat!

There are so many more cookbooks that I am excited about, but these are the top on my list at the moment. I can’t wait to move into our new house and add them to my bookshelves (I’m going to have a special cookbook bookcase near the kitchen!) and then get cooking, sharing, and enjoying all the delights they have to offer.

Tell me, what is your favourite ever cookbook? One you are itching to get your hands on?

9 thoughts on “Cookbook Wish List

  1. I share your cookbook obsession… and for all the same reasons. One of my favourite cookbooks (too many to choose just one) is Neil Perry’s “The Food I Love”. It’s a classic. But I also adore my quirky collection which includes recipes from Food Trucks, The Sopranos, Thug Kitchen and one of my most recent purchases “The Snacking Dead”. I love them all and couldn’t and wouldn’t part with any of them. I just bought Ciril Hitz’s “Baking Artisan Pastries and Breads” yesterday and have my eye on “Phillippa’s Home Baking”… it never ends. 😀

  2. What a great list!! I’m actually really bad at having cookbooks… I should get more of them, I think! I have a lot of cake decorating books, since that used to be my forte. I just love the blogs, because they’re so accessible! I did read Sally’s from cover to cover, though, so I suppose I like cookbooks more than I thought… I just don’t have enough of them!

  3. Pingback: Nourished Life Gratitude List 2015 – Week Three | Thoroughly Nourished Life

  4. I love cookbooks too, who doesn’t. I love lazing around browsing them, dreaming of all the delicious, beautiful eats. I’ll have to check some of these out, I haven’t heard of any of them! The last 3 look right up my alley. Thanks for sharing!

Please share your thoughts

