Thoroughly Nourished Finds – Cookies, Comedians, and Cartoons

I spend way too much time fooling around on the internet, to be sure, but I am never short of a funny, interesting, or thought-provoking link to send to a friend. Today I’m going to share with you the latest links that have made me laugh, inspired me, or helped me think about how to live a more nourished life. If you’ve found something funny or interesting to share, leave me a comment and a link below!

Blueberry Pumpkin Pancakes | Gluten Free | Thoroughly Nourished Life

Make ’em laugh!

I think you all know by now that I like a laugh, and most of you have probably picked up that I am a feminist too. These comedians bring some humour to the fight for equality for both sexes. I especially love Amy Schumer and Tina Fey’s points. Tell your own story. Lift up your fellow ladies.

Think/inspire

Sometimes I feel like I can’t breathe and all the trappings of life are pressing in on me. Becoming Minimalist has 12 simple ways to create more space every day.

Maybe Mickey (or one of his incarnations) wasn’t meant to be in love with Minnie, but Mike instead. Check out these illustrations for an updated and different gender view of the traditional mouse coupling.

30 isn’t all that far away, so I am keen to learn as much as I can in the next two and a bit years. This article on Thought Catalogue has 35 lessons to learn as you get closer to 30. I need to practice more of numbers 1, 8, 13, and 26.

I’m still learning about balance in my life and diet, but this article from The Greatist articulates perfectly the philosophy of balance that I admire in people like my sister. Who knows how to eat just one cookie and really enjoy it.

Get hungry

After seeing ‘Tex Mex from Scratch‘ featured on Jennifer’s ‘In My Kitchen‘ update I knew I needed to have it. This is ultimate Chris food and I can’t wait to cook him up some dry rub ribs and get my hands on a slice of chocolate meringue pie!

It must be the season for American food because I made this Buttermilk Fried Chicken for Chris tonight and I can tell it will be on heavy repeat all summer long. Perfect picnic food for omnivores.

You know I am all about the sweet, stackable breakfast food. A few years ago my grandmother entrusted her old waffle iron to me. After this all buckwheat waffle recipe came to light a few weeks ago I know exactly what I am going to christen it with once I dig it out of storage.

My copy of Joy the Baker‘s new cookbook is currently winging its way across the ocean to my eager hands. I can’t wait Strawberry Cheesecake Ice Cream to celebrate long summer afternoons, or a Mint Chocolate Chip Cake for my brother-in-law’s birthday. There is always room for some homemade decadence in the Thoroughly Nourished household.

That’s it for my list for now! Back to recipes on Wednesday. In the meantime, if you’ve found something you’d like to share, leave me a link below.

2 thoughts on “Thoroughly Nourished Finds – Cookies, Comedians, and Cartoons

  1. Me too. I spend way too much time messing about on the internet. Whenever there’s an unpleasant task pending, you’ll find me searching the web or refreshing Twitter (some would call it procrastination, I call it research).

    Thanks for the mention. Tex Mex from Scratch is a beauty and Chris is going to fall in love with you a little more each time you cook from it I bet. And now I have to order Joy the Bakers new book because you mentioned it and I said to myself the other day “If one more persons mentions Joy the Bakers new book, I know I’m going to break down and order it…” – You mentioned – I ordered. πŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: Nourished Life Gratitude List 2014 – Week Forty-Three | Thoroughly Nourished Life

Please share your thoughts

