Thoroughly Nourished Finds: Rainy Days Edition

I had an amazing zucchini and chocolate cake to share with you today. Had. Until I went to turn it out of the pan and my perfect cake became a pile of crumbs, chocolate chips, and devastation. So, I took this as a sign from the universe that I needed to step away from the cake (and the chocolate) for a little while and share something a little different with you all. Perhaps, what I have been wrapped up with on the internet for the past few weeks. Presenting Thoroughly Nourished Finds: Rainy Days Edition. After all, the weather is getting warmer and stormier here, and our rainy days of spring are just starting.

Indulgent Rainy Day Eats:

Let’s start the list with a little chocolate, because on a rainy weekend day I want to be wrapped up on the couch with a book and something indulgent to drink. This Chocolate Iced Coffee from Kare at Kitchen Treaty fits the bill perfectly.

Rainy days are perfect for Thai food in my mind. This Crunchy Cashew Thai Quinoa Salad from Tasty Kitchen Blog looks perfect, and oh that sauce….

Do you remember the Cadbury Mint Patties that came in the gold foil? I do, fondly. These Irish Mint Patties from Clean Eating are like the (almost) guilt free version – and you can make them at home!

Searching for another sweet treat? My new blog friend Lynn at Fresh April Flours shared a recipe for Cinnamon Crunch Scones last week. Now, scones are my perfect rainy day food because they remind me of my Mum. Anyone for high tea?

I know this vegan crumble is supposed to be dessert, but with all those berries, surely it could pass for breakfast too? Can’t wait to make this Raw Berry and Pear Crumble with Vanilla Cashew Cream.

Where I’m Dreaming Of:

If you could choose anywhere to spend a rainy weekend, where would you go? I would choose a lighthouse, right on the edge of a cliff, with the storm howling around me and a fireplace keeping me toasty warm I would be in my own little version of heaven. These lighthouse hotels make that a possibility….

Chris and I both have Scotland on our ‘Must Travel To’ Lists and when we get there The Kelpies sculpture near Falkirk in Scotland are on my list of ‘Must See Architecture’.

Might Be Raining, But I’m Still Training

I have decided to take a break from training for races for a little while. I am still enjoying running, and getting my long runs above 6 miles again, but I just want to be able to enjoy and explore some different ways of moving at the moment. Since my surgery earlier this year I have found it really hard to get my abs firmed up again. I am thinking of trying out reformer-based Pilates to strengthen my extremely weak core. Any thoughts?

I’ve been enjoying some at-home workouts during the week to increase my strength without having to fight the crowds in the weights area at the gym. This Cardio Pilates workout from PopSugar Fitness was an amazing follow up to my run on Saturday. I was starving by the time I got to the dinner party I was going to as well – bonus!

These printed tights from Under Armour are calling my name! Perfect for running and so pretty! Saving up my pocket money for these.

Rainy Retail Therapy

These coral suede loafers are completely impractical for the rain, and I would probably end up carrying them more than wearing them to jump through puddles, but they’re so pretty. Perfect for spring farmer’s market mornings.

A little book retail therapy is always welcome on a rainy day, and these are the latest reads to catch my eye (might need to give our bank account a workout this weekend…): Dear Daughter: A Novel by Elizabeth Little; The Miniaturist: A Novel by Jessie Burton; The Narrow Road to the Deep North by Richard Flanagan; and Lisette’s List by Susan Vreeland. Also, I have a Books Worth Reading board on Pinterest and I’m on Good Reads as well if you want to see what I’m reading at the moment!

Okay, dear reader, what have you found around this big ole web recently? Anyone tried out reformer Pilates before? Help!

7 thoughts on “Thoroughly Nourished Finds: Rainy Days Edition

  1. Thanks for the shoutout, Amy! You’re sweet!
    I also love Thai food and would eat it all day everyday if I could. Chicken Pad Thai is so my thing… Yummmmm.
    My mom has been to Scotland and it’s one of her favorite places ever. She’s been a lot of places, too! I would love to get there someday, but Italy is first on our list.
    As far as core strengthening, have you ever tried an indoor cycling class (spin class)? I have found that my core is sore after spin class, which means it’s working, right? Haha. But it really is a great core workout… And easy on the joints!

    • I can’t wait to show Chris Italy and do some more exploring myself 🙂
      I loved Spin Class, but my new gym doesn’t offer them (wahhhh), I might have to make one up and teach myself 😉

  2. oh NO!! i’m shedding a tear for the lost cake. 😦 sounds like a Cait in the Kitchen moment….haha. that said, i agree that getting wrapped up in a book is awesome…but can we make it wrapped up in Chocolate AND a book?! [haha, my eyes misread that to read wrapped up in chocolate the first go-thru, i kinda like it!]
    i’m excited u’re experimenting with your workouts and YES, i’ve tried the pilates reformer and it’s really great for a strong core. and more than the abs and ‘look good’ muscles. i think it’ll really help both in running but also ongoing recovery from ur surgery in that area. that said, i will say the instructor makes a WORLD of difference…so test a few classes and make sure u’ve got a good fit there. 🙂
    PS- can we both get those tights…matchy-matchy, stye?? 🙂

    • I’ll tell you a secret…some days I pray for rain…
      So much blue sky, which is awesome, but there’s nothing like a good stormy weekend inside the kitchen 🙂

  3. Pingback: Nourished Life Gratitude List 2014 – Week Thirty-Five | Thoroughly Nourished Life

Please share your thoughts

