Peanut Butter and Millet Chocolate Chip Cookies (gluten free)

I am going to come clean with you right here in the first paragraph of this post. Just so that we can clear the air and you can understand where I am coming from when I share this recipe with you and then insist multiple times that you make them as soon as humanly possible. So, here goes. I ate a whole batch of these cookies by myself in only two days. Now, don’t scroll down and do the maths about serving sizes and how many cookies that is exactly. Know only that I was possessed by some cookie smashing spirit and cannot account for my own actions. You have to make them for yourself so that you can truly understand my predicament.

Peanut Butter and Millet Chocolate Chip Cookies | Gluten Free | Thoroughly Nourished Life

When I came back from my run on Saturday afternoon all I could think about was peanut butter cookies and then I started thinking about the jar of maple bliss nut spread from Blessed and Lucky that was sitting in my fridge, and then I decided that I needed to make an enhanced peanut butter version of my Tahini and Peanut Butter Cookies. I wanted these cookies to be crumbly but soft and fudgy, like a peanut butter ball that had been reincarnated as a cookie. Then I added oats, crunchy little millet morsels, and milk chocolate chips because enough is just never quite enough. After you’ve eaten your first one, you will understand why I couldn’t just stop at one. It’s that salty-sweet flavour that needs chasing by even more salty-sweet in a never-ending cycle of cookie crumbs.

Peanut Butter and Millet Chocolate Chip Cookies | Gluten Free | Thoroughly Nourished Life

I could tell that I was onto something big because I couldn’t get enough of the batter. I may have eaten a cookie straight off the baking sheet before it made it into the oven, maybe (cough, cough). And they aren’t just divine eaten raw. When you bite into a baked cookie you are rewarded with creamy super peanut butter taste (enhanced by the brown sugar and salt in the dough), and then little pops of millet and chewy quick oats. You also slightly under-bake these cookies so that they retain their cookie dough benefits after they are cooked.

Peanut Butter and Millet Chocolate Chip Cookies | Gluten Free | Thoroughly Nourished Life

I wish there had been someone in my kitchen to share these with. Chris was snoozing while I was baking them, and after he woke up and laughed at me for taking fifty photos of my cookies I was not sharing with him! These are the perfect cookie to make with kids, and you can feel better about this sweet treat because there isn’t any butter in here. They are perfect to make with intolerant or allergic kids too because they are completely gluten free. No one has to miss out.

Now, do you understand why I ate the whole batch by myself?

Peanut Butter and Millet Chocolate Chip Cookies

Gluten Free | Makes 14-15 cookies

Note: I used a maple infused peanut butter to make my cookies, but if you cannot find this just use plain peanut butter instead – they will be just as delicious. You can also use plain flour in place of the rice flours, just substitute 145 grams (about 1 cup) of plain flour for the rice flours.

Ingredients

  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter (smooth or crunchy as you please)
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla essence
  • 70 grams white rice flour
  • 75 grams brown rice flour
  • 1 teaspoon gluten free baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/3 cup gluten free quick oats
  • 1/3 cup millet uncooked
  • 1/2 cup milk chocolate chips

Method

  1. Preheat your oven to 180C (350F) and line two baking sheets with baking paper.
  2. In a large bowl beat egg, brown sugar, peanut butter, olive oil, and vanilla essence until creamy and well combined.
  3. In a separate bowl whisk together white rice flour, brown rice flour, baking powder and salt. Add this mixture to the egg mix. Beat until well combined.
  4. Add oats, millet and chocolate chips to the dough and mix until incorporated. This will be a very stiff dough so you might have to use some muscles!
  5. Roll tablespoonfuls of dough into balls and place on prepared baking sheets. Push down slightly to flatten cookie. Leave some room for spreading.
  6. Place sheets in oven and bake for 15 minutes, swapping trays halfway through baking. Do not overcook.
  7. Remove from oven and allow to cool.

Peanut Butter and Millet Chocolate Chip Cookies | Gluten Free | Thoroughly Nourished Life

 

15 thoughts on “Peanut Butter and Millet Chocolate Chip Cookies (gluten free)

  1. I forgot to come back and comment on this earlier– you reminded me I was looking at this while lying in bed after my alarm woke me up, and you made me giggle mentioning the fact that Chris laughs at you for taking so many pictures. Matt does the same to me… Always hovering over me saying “can I eat one yet?” 🙂

  2. Pingback: Nourished Life Gratitude List 2014 – Week Thirty-Three | Thoroughly Nourished Life

  3. Pingback: The Best Ever Peanut Butter Cookie Recipe

  4. Pingback: 10 Gluten Free Sweet Ideas for Father’s Day | Thoroughly Nourished Life

  5. Pingback: Cookie Recipes - Lulu's Bakehouse

  6. Pingback: Best Cookie Dough Recipe Ever

  7. Pingback: White Chocolate and Ginger Cookie Recipe - Lulu's Bakehouse

Please share your thoughts

