Creamy Cauliflower Soup

I am a full-disclosure kind of lady. It takes a lot of self-restraint for me not to just pour out the contents of my heart and mind when I am talking to someone.

Also, I like to know what I am getting into in most situations. The ‘most’ caveat covers such things as the Apple conditions of use page. No one on earth has time to read that when they are madly trying to update their phone while making breakfast and put their pantyhose on. No one.

In the spirit of full disclosure I have to tell you I listen to the BBC and NPR and I’m more of a country or classical girl than Top 40.

I also have to tell you that I’m just not into this whole mass of new young adult dystopian fiction that seems to be flooding the market. Sorry to all the teenagers/lovers of YA. I’d rather have my depressive darkness in a translated Danish form, or a classic love story.

Creamy Cauliflower Soup | Vegan | Gluten Free | Thoroughly Nourished Life

In the spirit of full disclosure I have to tell you that I actually hate cauliflower. I may be the only (former) dietitian who feels this way. I’m sorry, I know it’s a brassica vegetable. I know that y’all love it instead of rice or mashed potato when you are trying to avoid carbs (note: I am never trying to avoid carbs. Like, ever). I just can’t get past the notion that I carry in my brain that cauliflower tastes like an unflattering bodily emission that rhymes with art. You know what I mean.

Anyway, a few weeks ago I got it into my brain that I just needed to make cauliflower soup. I cannot pinpoint the genesis of this thought, but once it was there, it was there and it all culminated in the purchase of a cauliflower at the farmer’s market last weekend. With cauliflower purchased very little stood in the way of my cauliflower soup vision.

Creamy Cauliflower Soup | Vegan | Gluten Free | Thoroughly Nourished Life

Full disclosure: I am glad that I got that cauliflower ear worm. A steaming bowl of this garlicky, creamy soup was the perfect antidote to a Tuesday night. We all know that Tuesdays are harder than Mondays.

Full disclosure: there is no cream in this soup. The creaminess of the title is contributed by a can of cannellini beans blitzed into white, mushy oblivion in the soup. Cannellini beans add protein and body to this soup – and as they render cream unnecessary (here, not in other delicious confections, obviously) this soup is completely vegan.

In full disclosure: when you saute the garlic, celery and onion together you will want to dive into the pot and abandon all thoughts of making soup. They are the necessary flavour backbone of this bowl of heaven.

Full disclosure: I am looking forward to the leftovers of this for dinner tonight. Also, I may be rethinking my stance on cauliflower.

Creamy Cauliflower Soup | Vegan | Gluten Free | Thoroughly Nourished Life

Creamy Cauliflower Soup

Serves 2-4 | Vegan | Gluten Free | Leftovers freeze up to 1 month or refrigerate for up to 3 days

Tip: I made the soup up to Step 5 and allowed it to cool in the refrigerator overnight. The next night I continued from Step 6.

Ingredients

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 1 large brown onion
  • 2 stalks celery
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1 teaspoon fresh ground black pepper
  • 1 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried rosemary
  • 1/2 large head of cauliflower (about 750 grams cauliflower), cut into small florets
  • 1 medium white-skinned potato
  • 400 gram can cannellini beans
  • 3 cups salt reduced vegetable stock
  • 1/4 cup toasted walnuts
  • 1/4 cup parsley leaves

Method

  1. Mince garlic. Peel and chop onion. Thinly slice celery.
  2. Heat oil in a large sauce pan. Add garlic, onion, celery, nutmeg, pepper, oregano, and rosemary. Sauté until onion is soft and translucent.
  3. Add cauliflower florets. Wash potato and dice into small chunks. Add potato to pot.
  4. Drain cannellini beans and rinse well. Add to pot along with vegetable stock.
  5. Bring soup to boil. Reduce heat to low and simmer for 30 – 40 minutes or until potato and cauliflower are softened and cannellini beans have started to disintegrate.
  6. Remove from heat. Use stick blender to purée soup until smooth. Alternately, allow soup to cool to room temperature and use a blender to puree in batches. Replace soup into pot and heat before serving.
  7. To serve: spoon soup into bowls and sprinkle with toasted walnuts and parsley. Serve with toasted bread.

Creamy Cauliflower Soup | Vegan | Gluten Free | Thoroughly Nourished Life

4 thoughts on “Creamy Cauliflower Soup

  1. Pingback: Nourished Life Gratitude List 2014 – Week Twenty-Eight | Thoroughly Nourished Life

Please share your thoughts

