Lemon Blueberry Loaf (gluten free)

How do you communicate best? I know I come across best in writing. When I have time to modulate my words and really think about the tone of the message that I am sending, time to pick and choose words carefully, and craft the text so that I come across in the way that I intended.

When I am really upset or vehement about something I can come across as sharp an impatient in my speech. But when I can write to someone I can explain how I feel about the topic, or say everything I need to without the chance for interruption or appearing annoyed.

IMG_2784

I was listening to a podcast today about women and crying in the workplace. One fact presented was that men are more sensitive to the tone of voice, whereas women are more sensitive to the content of the message. So I guess Thumper’s mama should really have said ‘If you don’t have something nice or someway to say it nicely, then don’t say anything at all.’ Food for thought surely.

One way to communicate that will definitely not be misunderstood is baked goods. You really can’t make cake or cookies into an angry message. I know, I’ve tried. When you come into the room with a loaf of warm, blueberry studded gluten free lemon bread your personality is bathed in an aura of kindness and all things good and wholesome. And, a slice or two comes in handy if you accidentally used the wrong tone when trying to communicate to someone special that you would really, really like to plant a dwarf lemon tree in the garden at your new house. Just as an example of course…

IMG_2794

This loaf is very lemony, which pairs well with the sweet blueberries scattered throughout the batter. I love lemon flavoured sweets and find that the sharp acidity cuts well through the sugar to make this a breakfast treat that isn’t too cloyingly sweet. Remember to leave your blueberries in the freezer until the last minute as this will stop them from staining the batter and turning your lemon bread into a lilac loaf.

(See what we could do with the lemons from that hypothetical tree…)

IMG_2808

Lemon Blueberry Loaf

Gluten free | Makes one 9 x 5 inch loaf | Serves 8-10 | Can be cut, wrapped and stored in freezer for 2 months

Ingredients:

  • 50 grams buckwheat flour + 1 tablespoon, extra
  • 50 grams brown rice flour
  • 50 grams white rice flour
  • 80 grams almond meal
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 cup caster sugar
  • 1/2 cup low fat milk
  • ¼ cup lemon juice
  • 2 eggs
  • 50 grams butter melted, cooled
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 ½ cups frozen blueberries, still frozen

 Method:

  1. Preheat your oven to 180C (350F) and line the bottom and sides of a 9 x 5-inch loaf tin with baking paper.
  2. In a large bowl weigh in the buckwheat flour, brown rice flour, white rice flour and almond meal. Measure in the salt, baking powder, and caster sugar and then whisk all the ingredients together until well incorporated.
  3. In a separate bowl combine milk, eggs, butter, and vanilla bean paste.
  4. Add milk mixture to the dry ingredients and mix until nearly all combined.
  5. Toss blueberries in extra tablespoon of buckwheat flour. Add blueberries and mix gently to incorporate so that you don’t mash up the blueberries and stain the batter.
  6. Pour batter into the prepared tin and slide into the oven.
  7. Bake for 40-50 minutes or until a wooden skewer inserted into the middle comes out clean then remove from the oven and place on a cooling rack.
  8. Allow to cool in the tin for 5 minutes and then remove from the tin and cool to room temperature before slicing.

IMG_2810

11 thoughts on “Lemon Blueberry Loaf (gluten free)

  1. Lemon and blueberry is the best combo – I really like how your cakes always look so soft inside.

    Also, I love almond meal in cakes! I really don’t use it enough.

    • Thanks Emma! Had an epic fail with some cookies I was baking last night so I was relieved when the cake turned out so well.
      I love almond meal, but my favourite would have to be hazelnut meal 🙂

  2. That looks soooo good! Pinned to my breakfast board. 🙂 And I agree, it’s impossible to communicate anger with baked goods. I’d say I’ve made a lot of friends by bringing people cake. 😀

  3. Bakery = bribery and corruption… and lots of warm fuzzy feelings too. Seriously though, I think cooking and baking for someone is a way of showing love. And speaking of love, I love the combo of lemon and blueberries too. Your cake looks wonderful… i can see a dwarf lemon tree in your future.

  4. What a perfect combination of flavors, love this. I believe someone will be getting that dwarf lemon tree especially after having a slice of this lovely loaf of goodness.

  5. I’m exactly the same, Amy. I think I write much better than I speak! When my husband and I started dating, we spent more time writing notes than having verbally interchanges… that’s changed a bit now but I still love the notes, I keep them in a drawer and look at them whenever I need some encouragement 🙂 As for this gorgeous loaf, I adore the combination of lemon and blueberry! This looks perfectly moist and fragrant. Love htat you’ve given it a proper lemony kick! xx

  6. Pingback: Nourished Life Gratitude List 2014 – Week Twenty-Two | Thoroughly Nourished Life

  7. Pingback: Desktop Dining: An iPhone Ode to Lunch Hour and Tips! | Thoroughly Nourished Life

  8. Pingback: What Is Gluten with Amy Chatwin

Please share your thoughts

