Nourished Life Gratitude List 2014 – Week Twenty

What a great week and a busy weekend! So busy that I didn’t get the chance to post this yesterday. I might have been busy taking a Sunday afternoon nap…This week I made some big decisions, and had some wonderful experiences with friends and family. This week I learned that when I trust my gut the decisions I make are more in line with my personality and give me a deep sense of peace. I cease to be at war with myself; to be caught in the conflict of what I think the world at large expects from me and what I really want for myself. I wish you all the same. Here it is, the Nourished Life Gratitude List 2014 – Week Twenty:

Monday: Monday started off with an extra snuggle-in, which meant that I got to enjoy my run after work before making cupcakes for the May work birthdays. I enjoyed getting speedy while listening to the amusing and informative podcast ‘Stuff Mom Never Told You.’ Well worth a listen. I was grateful to be able to cook out of my copy of ‘Sally’s Baking Addiction Cookbook’. If you haven’t discovered her fun sweet and savoury recipes yet – get going over there after you’ve read this list!

chocolate cupcake

Tuesday: After work today my friend Shane and I headed to the entertainment centre to see one Mr Michael Buble! We booked the tickets nearly a year ago and it was well worth the wait. I was grateful to sit in the audience and watch a true showman perform with a talented band. He ended the show by himself on stage under a single spotlight and sang the final verses of ‘A Song for You’ without a microphone. Watching someone share their incredible talent and gift with the world like this is something to be grateful for, as is spending time with a friend (hi Shane).

Wednesday: Tonight was a night of rest. I have been trying to exercise every day and today I just needed to make use of a rest day. Chris and I chatted together when we arrived home and then had a very indulgent after work nap. I was grateful for the chance to curl up and listen to the rain on the roof and let the world slip away.

Thursday: I wore a forest green dress to work today and Ted our wonderful maintenance man kept stopping by my desk to sing Irish ballads. I am grateful for the people who surround me at work. Ted always takes the opportunity to give me a hug and tell me stories about his mum even when we are busily walking between worksites. He’s like my work grandad and I am grateful for him.

flowers

Friday: Today I went out on my standing Friday lunch date with my work friend Jess. We talked about some deep nitty gritty down in your soul stuff over coffee and sweet treats. I am so grateful to have such a great friend at work. Tonight I went home and saw Molly for the first time in a fortnight! Cue the gratitude for my furry sweetheart.

molly

Saturday: Today I spent some quality time with Mum and Jess at the markets and then we went back to Mum and Dad’s house and spent time shovelling and wheelbarrow-ing gravel into the backyard for some renovations. I was grateful to do some manual labour. I felt strong and capable after two hours of pushing dirt around! This afternoon I headed home and Chris and I took a long walk along the water and talked about serious and not-so-serious things before we headed out to dinner at a friend’s house. I was grateful to curl up on the couch with new friends and a glass of wine and talk about life.

IMG_2613

Sunday: Today I went out for a big walk along the water and let myself breathe in after a busy week and just feel grateful for being under the sunshine. Chris and I went out for lunch and a movie – we saw Godzilla, definitely recommended. I was grateful to go out on a date with my sweetheart and then come home, read my book (just started ‘Miss Smilla’s Feeling for Snow’) and fall asleep on the couch. There is nothing quite as indulgent as a Sunday afternoon nap.

walk 18-5

Also this week:

Tell me, dear reader, what are you grateful for this week?

6 thoughts on “Nourished Life Gratitude List 2014 – Week Twenty

  1. We saw Godzilla yesterday too! Great movie! Glad that you got to enjoy some down-times during the week. I am also hugely grateful for quiet times and evenings after work with my love doing simple things… watching a tv series, snuggling under blankets, eating simple food. I also spent Wed night with Aaron and my mother having a family dinner. SO grateful for that amazing woman. I feel blessed to have her in my life 🙂 This is a lovely series Amy xxx

  2. Was Godzilla overweight? 😉 I ask because apparently people are complaining about that, of all things! I do want to see it though.

    And your cute puppy! Also your lovely looking choccy cupcakes are making me hungry for afternoon tea.

    I’m loving cosiness and nice food and saving heaps of money lately. Those are pretty good things in my life.

    • Dear God! Hollywood is trying to put their monsters on a diet now too! He was a mighty fine looking monster in my opinion 🙂
      She is a cute puppy! I have photos of her at work, just in case I start to miss her too much 🙂

  3. Haven’t seen Godzilla yet, but we saw The Grand Budapest Hotel and absolutely loved it. We also took the boys to see The Amazing Spiderman which they loved, but we thought was cringe-worthy and loooong, at best. Oh well, you win some and you lose some. Love your cupcakes, doggy, breakfast bread Miss Smilla’s Feeling for Snow.

    • Oh I want to see The Grand Budapest Hotel! I’ll have to take Mum I think. Glad to steer clear of Spiderman – give me Captain America any day though 🙂

Please share your thoughts

