Oatmeal Caramel Cookies

I gave you a smoothie on Monday and a confession of my gluttony over the weekend. These cookies are the reason I needed to start the week on a lighter note. Not too long after they had come out of the oven I had already greedily gobbled one down while the caramel chips were still slightly molten. Then of course, I had to try one when they were cooler and I was taking photos, which turned into two because I had crowded the photos and I needed to keep my strength up while shooting (obviously).

Then there was the cookie that I had to eat later in the afternoon just to see if the crunchy, sweet, snappable texture was good enough to share with all of you. And, it was.

Oatmeal Caramel Cookies | Thoroughly Nourished Life

These cookies taste like comfort to me. They taste like rainy days and big cups of tea and thick delicious books and woolly socks. They aren’t delicate, lacy, fancy cookies. These are nubbled with caramel chips and oats. They are the size of the palm of your hand (or bigger if you’d like). They are a cookie to dunk into a cup of tea, to hold in one hand for nibbling while the rain pours down outside and you snuggle under a blanket on the couch.

That’s how I plan to eat them next time anyway. This time I gobbled them greedily. I snapped each biscuit into thirds and ate them while standing over the kitchen counter while I was making a salad for lunch. It’s not irony, it’s reality, balance. Next time I plan to be more restrained, but this time, greed was good. I have also heard reports that these are delicious with a scoop of ice cream on top (note: this wasn’t me, I didn’t have any leftover to experiment with).

Oatmeal Caramel Cookies | Thoroughly Nourished Life

Oatmeal Caramel Cookies

Note: I used Freedom Foods Quick Oats in this recipe. They are guaranteed wheat free, which works for my belly. If you are a coeliac, please consult your doctor for advice on whether oats are appropriate for you, or simply leave the oats out. If you do not require this smoothie to be gluten free, you can use traditional rolled oats in this recipe for the same flavour.

Wheat-free. Makes 18-20 cookies.

 Ingredients

  • 100 grams butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup caster sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla essence
  • 1 large egg at room temperature
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 50 grams sorghum flour
  • 50 grams buckwheat flour
  • 40 grams white rice flour
  • 1 cup wheat-free quick oats
  • 3/4 cup caramel chips

Method

  1. Preheat your oven to 180C (350F) and line three cookie sheets with baking paper.
  2. In a small bowl whisk together baking powder, baking sodar, salt, cinnamon, sorghum flour, buckwheat flour, and white rice flour.
  3. In a medium size mixing bowl beat together butter and sugars until light and fluffy. I used a wooden spoon, you could use a handheld mixer instead.
  4. Beat in egg and vanilla until well combined.
  5. Dump in flour mixture and beat until just combined. Add oats and caramel chips and mix until distributed.
  6. Chill dough for approximately an hour. This makes all the difference to the final product.
  7. Drop rounded tablespoons of chilled mixture onto prepared cookie sheets. Leave about 5cm between each mound because these biscuits will spread.
  8. Place cookie sheets into the preheated oven and bake for 12-15 minutes or until the cookies are golden around the edges. Swap position of trays half way through baking time.
  9. Remove from oven, place cookies on a wire rack to cool completely (if they last that long).

Oatmeal Caramel Cookies | Thoroughly Nourished Life

13 thoughts on “Oatmeal Caramel Cookies

  1. I thought I was reading one of my own blog posts!!! haha

    We call the cookie/cake/cupcake/muffin etc… that gets bitten into for the photo shoot the sacrificial cookie/cake etc…

    Anyhoo, it’s absolutely necessary to sample the goods to make sure the recipe works properly and that the cookies taste just as good cooled as they do warm. In the name of quality control and all that. These look delicious and I’d be following your lead with all the frantic cookie gobbling.

    BTW: Cookies wolfed down over the kitchen counter taste better (and I should know).

  2. Pingback: No Bake Dairy Free Banoffee Pie Recipe with salted caramelI Hate You Milk

  3. Pingback: Nourished Life Gratitude List 2014 – Weeks Twelve and Thirteen | Thoroughly Nourished Life

  4. Pingback: Nourished Life Gratitude List 2014 – Week Twenty-Five | Thoroughly Nourished Life

  5. Pingback: 10 Gluten Free Sweet Ideas for Father’s Day | Thoroughly Nourished Life

  6. Pingback: Nourished Life Gratitude List 2014 – Week Fifty-Two | Thoroughly Nourished Life

  7. Pingback: Pumpkin Oat Walnut Chocolate Chip Cookies | Gluten Free | Thoroughly Nourished Life

Please share your thoughts

