Nourished Life Gratitude List 2014 – Week Eleven

This week I have felt like I am finally falling back into step with the world. Things just seemed to be working, and I felt an overwhelming sense of contentment. I’m doing some internal work at the moment on understanding how I view the world, and how I deal with stress, anxiety and worry. One of the best ways I have found is to focus on what I am grateful for and all the exciting things happening around me.

One of the most exciting pieces of news: last week my blog friend Jenelle, her husband and son welcomed a new member into their family. Congratulations and welcome to the world Miss E!

Here is the Thoroughly Nourished Life Gratitude List 2014 – Week Eleven:

Monday: Today’s blog post got a huge number of views, so I was grateful for you: the people who read my blog regularly and those who just came to visit for the day. I hope you make my Melt and Mix Chocolate Brownies and enjoy them. I wish I could send a tray to each of you.

Melt and Mix Chocolate Brownies

Tuesday: Today I was grateful to get in a great run at the gym, and then come home to Chris and make an awesome dinner, which we ate while curled up on the bed watching True Detective. I am grateful for nights like this, even if there is laundry involved, because there isn’t a day that I don’t go to sleep with a smile on my face.

Wednesday: Today Chris and I had a gym date after work! I am usually a lone exerciser, but just knowing that Chris is there makes me work a little harder. I was grateful for his company, and for being able to share with him something that I love doing. Then I was grateful for leftovers for dinner and an episode of True Detective before bed.

gym date

Thursday: A few weeks ago one of my favourite baking bloggers Sally released her first cookbook and today my copy arrived! I was grateful for the inspiration, especially when I had two batches of cupcakes to make tonight! Sally’s recipes all look delicious and the colour photographs had me itching to get into the kitchen. Oh, and the salted peanut butter frosting I was making didn’t hurt either.

sallys baking addiction

Friday:  Today I woke myself up early to go for a run and I can tell that summer is losing its grip on the southern hemisphere because the sun is rising later and later. I was grateful for the silence that pre-dawn brings, and very grateful for getting a run in after all the buttercream I ‘sampled’ last night. I was grateful for doing some hard work today and completing my parts of a report due next week. Then coming home and curling up on the couch with some freckle chocolates and an action movie in the company of Mum and Dad – and my welcome home from the resident malamute wasn’t too bad either.

Saturday: Today was golden! I went for a really big walk before breakfast under the big blue sky and when I came home I made some delicious Carrot, Zucchini, and Thyme muffins for my breakfast (recipe coming this week). I must have been bitten by the baking bug overnight because I then made some Oatmeal Caramel Cookies (recipe also coming this week) – these ones are super dangerous I ate four in a very short space of time! This evening was spent catching up on some valuable couch lying and Midsomer Murder watching.

Oatmeal Caramel Cookies

Sunday: Today Mum and I are having a shopping date. I’m off for a really big walk, having a smoothie to make up for my Saturday treats and get me back on track for a healthy week, and then we are off in search for a dress for me to wear to the two weddings Chris and I will be attending in April. I am grateful for some fun, light, girl time with my Mama. Oh, and there’s more baking planned for this afternoon too!

Okay dear readers, I am off for my walk and looking forward to a big banana smoothie and some pretty dresses, what are you grateful for this week? What are you looking forward to today and next week?

4 thoughts on “Nourished Life Gratitude List 2014 – Week Eleven

  1. Those brownies look oh so good! I also wish you could deliver some to me. My gratitude for today is that I love what I do, even when it drives me crazy or is overwhelming. And I usually go to bed with a smile on my face, too. Glad to read your list today!

  2. I am grateful for my family and extended family , they are so precious to me so I never take them for granted as you nevr know what tomorrow might bring

  3. Sounds like a packed week Amy. I’m off for my run in about 2 minutes, after a bowl of natural muesli with fresh blueberries. (I might have to have a banana smoothie for recovery… you’ve inspired me.) I love those nights when you get to eat leftovers and settle in for an evening of good TV (for Clint and I it’s The Wire at the moment).

    BTW: Watch that baking bug. When it bites, I’m not sure there’s a cure.

    PS: I gotta get that book!

    Okay, I’m going now.

    • Oh I’ve been wanting to watch The Wire – that will have to be our next show. I can usually only handle one TV show at a time, and usually only one episode before I fall asleep…
      Also, the baking bug isn’t going anywhere – lucky we are getting into ultimate running weather here!

Please share your thoughts

