One Pan Tomato Pasta

We’ve spoken before about how Tuesdays are hard. But you know what? Tuesdays can be amazing as well. It’s all a matter of perspective.

Perspective is a lesson that my Mum tried her hardest to teach my sister and I as we were growing up. The way you view your life is a choice that you and you alone get to make.

As Frances Hodgson Burnett wrote ‘If you look the right way, you can see that the whole world is a garden.’

So Tuesday: it was busy, but with some perspective I saw the day as full of great things to do and achieve. Like making dinner for the man I love after a long day at work for both of us and with a long night of laundry and university work ahead.

MyShape

This one pan tomato  pasta was a perfect fit for a busy night. The rain was tap tapping on the roof of the cottage by the bay and while Chris and I were doing housework and laundry, I set a pot filled with water and all the ingredients on the stove and let it bubble away with little interference from me. Thirty minutes later we had a filling meal fit for two (and leftovers for Wednesday) and hardly any washing up to do. I was initially a little sceptical when I saw this cooking method on Martha Stewart, but when it went viral I knew that I had to give it a try.

Pot and bowls

My perspective now: I am so glad we had this for dinner! The pasta was perfectly al dente, the sauce thickened around the pasta and clung to each piece, and because it cooks in the sauce the flavours infuse the pasta. There is no shortage of sauce here and the cheese melts lovingly atop this bowl of flavoursome, healthy, easy dinner. This pasta is perfect for laundry nights, soccer practice nights, and nights where you would rather spend more time on the couch watching True Detective than cooking or cleaning dishes.

One Pan Tomato Pasta

(gluten free, vegetarian)

Adapted from Martha Stewart

Serves 4

 Ingredients

  • 250 grams gluten free penne (I use San Remo)
  • 1 brown onion, thinly sliced
  • 1 carrot, chunkily diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh oregano
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1/4 teaspoon chili flakes
  • 400 gram can cherry tomatoes (or equal amount fresh)
  • 3 cups water
  • 1 teaspoon powdered vegetable stock
  • Generous cup frozen peas
  • 1/3 cup chopped sundried tomatoes
  • Grated parmesan, to serve

Method

  1. Place penne, onion, carrot, garlic, oregano, olive oil, chili flakes, cherry tomatoes, water, and powdered vegetable stock into a large saucepan and set over medium heat.
  2. Bring to the boil and set your timer for 10 minutes. Stir regularly. When the pasta has 3 minutes left to cook add frozen peas.
  3. Remove from heat and stir in chopped sundried tomatoes.
  4. Divide between bowls and top with grated parmesan.
  5. Enjoy.
And this is the hungry sous chef...

And this is the hungry sous chef…

6 thoughts on “One Pan Tomato Pasta

  1. This method goes against everything I’ve ever been taught about cooking pasta, so I understand your skepticism. But from your post, it sounds as though it works and it looks delicious. I’ll definitely be giving it a try because not only to I have 4 nights a week where my youngins are off to one sporting event after another, but I ALWAYS have laundry AND I’m always up for more screen time and less dishes.

  2. Pingback: Nourished Life Gratitude List 2014 – Week Eleven | Thoroughly Nourished Life

Please share your thoughts

