Thoroughly Nourished Finds – A Rather Random Assortment

The rain is softly falling outside my window today, and all I wanted to do this morning was roll over and snuggle under the covers all day. Alas, the office was calling, but with a big mug of tea in my hand and happy co-workers around me it doesn’t seem so bad.

In the moments between the spreadsheet lines I am allowing my mind to wander back to cosier things and here I am going to share them with you in the latest edition of Thoroughly Nourished Finds – A Rather Random Assortment.

Reads

Currently I am still wading through Sheri Fink’s Five Days at Memorial: Life and Death in a Storm-Ravaged Hospital (it’s dense and a little heartbreaking) and I have just started Kate Christensen’s Blue Plate Special: An Autobiography of my Appetites for my master’s dissertation.

I was intrigued when I saw this article about highly sensitive people, and it seems that I would fit into their category perfectly. I guess that’s why I cry over Huggies commercials…

Eats

I was lying in bed reading the latest issue of Food Network Magazine the other night and Chris seemed awfully interested in its contents and bookmarked a few that he wouldn’t mind seeing on his dinner plate soon – it was the bacon special people. Even for a vegetarian like me there were some recipes that I’d love to try for my omnivorous loved ones. Think: Bacon Candy, The Italian Elvis sandwich, or Bacon Burger Dogs.

One of my favourite days is quickly approaching – Saint Patrick’s Day (which also happens to be one of my friend’s birthdays – Hi Therese!). I think that this Gluten Free Irish Soda Bread might be a nice treat to share with my workmates, or perhaps a St. Patrick’s Day Green Velvet Cake?

St Pats Day Cake

(source

Loves

A pink winter coat. Don’t ask why. I don’t even usually wear pink, but something about this soft peony-hued coat that just makes me want to stroll through the city on a winter’s day to visit the museum and sip a cappuccino while the world goes by.

My friend Cait has started a new business! She has merged her artistic talents and her love of running and inspiring other runners to create Ezzere Running Shirts. Each one contains a personal message that aims to inspire runners to create goals and go for them. I wear Cait’s shirts whenever I race because just knowing the love and creative spirit that goes into each one spurs me onto give my all to the run. You can visit Cait’s new website here, or check her out on Facebook, Twitter, or Instagram.

DSC03944

Me, in a Cait Chock creation

Listens

I love listening to podcasts while I work or when I’m out running. I’m working out my brain and my body at the same time.

At the moment I am binge listening to BBC Woman’s Hour (very appropriate with the approaching International Women’s Day) – the stories of women who have faced extraordinary and ordinary problems today and in the past, and the discussion of issues that impact on women in contemporary society keep me interested while I’m tapping away at my keyboard being a working woman in the world.

 The New Yorker: Out Loud is filled with interesting stories and debates from the pages of the magazine. I must admit, I feel a little fancy listening to The New Yorker, but I really enjoy hearing from the people behind the stories in the magazine.

Have your found anything exciting that you would like to share dear readers? 

Coming up this week – An ice cream recipe for Saint Patrick’s Day and a risotto that makes a perfect midweek meal.

6 thoughts on “Thoroughly Nourished Finds – A Rather Random Assortment

  1. I spotted that coat last night! Then I thought maybe the winter coat in camel was a bit more practical but oh the pink! So pretty.

    Also thinking of St Patrick’s Day recipes being a good Irish girl. I usually make something traditional rather than green but your green cake link is inspiring me.

    Have a happy day!

    • Oh, do we really need to be practical? I have a serviceable grey coat that has done a good job, but I think I just need some fun in my wardrobe this winter 🙂
      Also, I can’t wait to see what you come up with for St Patrick’s Day!

  2. Oooooooo I LOVE St. Pats day too! Although I celebrate it a little different these days – it is still a special day. That green velvet cake looks like an amazing way to mark the event and would be an absolute HIT!

    Massive congrats to the clever Cait on her new business. I feel the same as you in that I love wearing the shirts knowing the passion of the creator and that the shirts are MUCH more than a running tee!

    Meanwhile with your gorgeous eyes you MUST get and wear that pink coat!!!! That colour is made for you!!!

  3. Forget practical, you’ll be a knock-out in that pink coat. My favourite colour is grey. I’m not quite sure what that says about me. 🙂

    Speaking of colour… THAT CAKE!!! How gorgeous. I do love green too.

    I found Bonne Maman Caramel Spread in the supermarket (rather than an exclusive deli) for the first time. I was pretty excited about that.

  4. GREEN CAKE!!! oh my gosh, you snagged my attention right off the bat…if we didn’t have enough reason to love a holiday devoted to pots of gold, rainbows, and semi-creepy little green men. 😉 jk. naw, i do enjoy st. patty’s!
    thank you SOOOO soooo much, you have always been one of my biggest supporters and brand ambassadors…you’ve been rocking and running in my shirts since day one and i love it!! 🙂 xoxo

  5. Pingback: Nourished Life Gratitude List 2014 – Week Ten | Thoroughly Nourished Life

Please share your thoughts

