Gratitude List Week Five

Well, this week took an interesting turn. And even though I could have (and did) spend a little time feeling sorry for myself, most of the time I was overcome with gratitude at all different angles. I think sometimes life throws these challenges at you to see how you handle yourself, which path you wander down – acceptance, humour and good grace; or, fighting the flow, bitterness, and anger. I would like to think I chose the former path. I believe that there really is nothing I could do. My situation was already decided. There was no point in fighting what was going to happen; rather, I just had to sit back and observe the ride, be thankful for the love of all those around me, and grateful that the medical staff were competent, quick, and caring. Today I am resting comfortably at home (thanks to a combination of caring from my family, and painkillers) and taking the opportunity to find out what will nourish me back to good health. I have taken some short, slow walks to keep my blood going; I am eating healthy food (with a sprinkling of sugar of course); and relaxing and reflecting on all that I have been grateful for this week. Here I present my Nourished Life Gratitude List Week Five.

Monday: Grateful for a public holiday so that I could share some time at home with my family and make delicious sweet potato and wild rice cakes for dinner. (Recipe to come very soon.) Oh, and eat one of these for dessert.

Tuesday: My whole run this morning was wonderful! My speed was perfect, the music selection was right on, and then when I got to work I had a wonderful refuelling breakfast. Tonight I got to come home to Chris and we spent some time together doing chores on the car – when you really love someone it doesn’t matter what you are doing together, as long as you are together. Grateful that I have a love like that.

Wednesday: The sky was painted dark this morning so I went to the gym for my run. I have been feeling stronger and stronger the past few weeks and I am grateful that my body is so strong. All day long I dreamt about Balsamic-Glazed Onion Tacos and tonight that dream came true. I was grateful for a wonderful evening of taco eating and Colbert Report watching with my darling Chris. Keep an eye out for the recipe this week.

20140131-090806.jpg

Thursday: I’m sure there’s a saying about bad news coming early in the morning. At 4.30am this morning I woke up with abdominal pain. I am so grateful to Chris who insisted on taking me to the emergency department. Chris stayed with me while they poked and prodded and tested me. I don’t know how I can express how grateful I am that Chris remained calm under pressure and was completely in charge of the situation while I was unable to care for myself. When we finally found out my gallbladder was the issue we relaxed a little. While Chris went home to get something to eat and take a shower, Casey came and sat with me. I was grateful that she was there when the surgeon came to see me because she knew the right medical questions to ask, and she let me sniff her chips and gravy because I wasn’t allowed to eat anything. I am also grateful for the excellent medical care I received during my stay at Sunnybank Private Hospital. I was in surgery by 3.00pm that same afternoon and grateful that Chris, Mum, and Casey were all there to kiss me goodnight before I fell into peaceful post-operative sleep. I was also grateful to my school friend Michelle who works at the hospital and made sure to come and see me before she went home.

Sexy and I know it.

Sexy and I know it.

Friday: Apparently my body clock doesn’t switch off even for hospital stays. Up at 5.30am I was grateful that Chris had brought my iPad down to me so that I could do some reading. Mum arrived at 10am and stayed the whole day to keep me company. I was grateful for our little walks around the ward and cups of green tea. In the afternoon Caroline arrived to visit me and then Chris turned up as well. Grateful that I have such amazing friends and loved ones who gathered around me so fiercely with love that I didn’t feel much pain at all. Then I got to go home! Grateful to see my Dad again, and Jess, and yes, Miss Molly too!

Mama at ER

Saturday: Today I was grateful to be at home again. Mum and I shared breakfast and then after a rest (apparently just showering takes a big effort) I managed a turn about the block – thanks to my walking partners during the day I managed a whole 1.8km! I was grateful for Jess popping over to see me in the afternoon, and then Chris came for dinner! We played Scrabble and went for moonlit walk and then he stayed until I fell into sweet dreams. So grateful for this man who takes such good care of me and is always precisely what I need.

Sunday: I went for walk this morning! I ambled down to the park to meet Mum and Dad and Molly and then we ambled back home. It’s frustrating to realise that it will take me time to get back to the peaks I was reaching in the past few weeks, but at the same time I know that it is fundamentally important that I listen to my body and the surgeon and take it very slowly getting back on course. I am grateful that I am so young and healthy and that this is just a temporary obstacle. Soon I will be back in the game, but for now it’s about gently nourishing myself back to full health.

Where I live

Where I live

This week is going to be quiet (hopefully) and full of rest and recovery. I am hoping to get back to work sometime later this week, and I will be keeping you all updated with my progress back into running again! Have a thoroughly nourished week everyone.

Tell me, dear reader, what are you grateful for this week? Any times when you have just had to let go and trust in the process and have faith that it will all work out?

5 thoughts on “Gratitude List Week Five

  1. oh my gosh, when i saw the FB updates i was sending all my love to Ozland!! soo scary but i’m glad you were surrounded by sooo many supportive friends and family!! and all the bloggysphere too. 🙂 but knowing you, i knew you would take the courage to put as much of a positive/’funny’ spin on the situation as possible. by funny, i by no means mean making light of the situation, but i’ve always found cracking jokes at totally NOT funny things seems to defuse the ‘scary’ factor and make it easier to stay positive, and keep moving forward.
    i’m soooo happy you’re back home and feeling better!! recovering like a champ!! 🙂
    xoxo

    • Thanks Cait! I was cracking jokes at every point that I was conscious! There’s no point being too overwhelmed and serious about these things. Just had to trust the doctors and the nurses and let myself be taken care of. Most annoying thing is not being able to run! And can’t eat to much so I am so hungry!! Kept making mum let me smell whatever food she was eating and then go for ‘marathons around the ward’ where we would joke about beating our PB because I was getting so much faster by the end. Home now, tired and sore, but happy to be in my own space 🙂 Thank you so much for the well wishes!

  2. Rest up. Gallbladder surgery takes a little time to get over. And I must say that the Sunnybank Hospital is the best. (Even though my gallbladder surgery was at the Mater).
    Take care.

  3. OMG what a week!

    So glad you are on the mend and got such prompt medical attention!!!

    Enjoy your downtime. Even if running is a little wait away I know you will be nourishing your body in every other way!

    Thinking of you and wishing you the speediest recovery!!!!!

    Xx

Please share your thoughts

