Gratitude List – Week Four

Do you ever fear a week coming? Are you afraid of the calendar flicking over to the combination of day, month, year that heralds an event that in your mind will be a trial, a test and measure of some part of your personality? This week brought four days that were a combination of ensuring everything was in its place, all parties were well fed and coffee-d and all feathers were soothed, and enjoyable evening events. I was certainly glad that I had a long weekend to look forward to, hence the late posting of this list while I enjoy a Monday that came without an early rising.

Here I present the Thoroughly Nourished Gratitude List 2014 Week Four:

Monday: I was grateful to start the week with an early sunrise run, and this afternoon Chris turned up at my house to surprise me!

Tuesday: This week was filled with big meetings and I was super grateful for all the help from my colleagues to get everything organised and cleaned up at the end of the day.

Wednesday: Sometimes I feel like I am more productive the more I have to do. This morning I managed to fit in a ride on the stationary bike while reading a few chapters of an intriguing new book (Five Days at Memorial: Life and Death in a Storm-Ravaged Hospital by Sheri Fink), and this afternoon I was on overdrive: a few more kilometres on the bike, baking a cake for the cafe I supply sometimes, making dinner for the family, and then a grown-up meeting after the plates had been cleared. I was grateful at full and fast-paced my life can be sometimes, and equally grateful for the quiet time when I finally fell into bed that night.

bike time

Thursday: Another day of meetings at work, but today I had an exciting evening to look forward to. Chris and I finished work and headed into town to see Jimmy Carr perform and have dinner at one of our favourite restaurants. I was so grateful for the laughter. The biggest gratitude of the day is that I received news that my friend who has lymphoma doesn’t have to start treatment yet. Her cancer seems to be contained and all of her biochemistry is normal. They need to monitor her closely but her prospects are even better than her doctor had hoped. She may never have to undergo treatment. I am so grateful.

photo 2 (3) photo 1 (6)

Friday: Today the meetings finished early and my friend and I snuck out for lunch outside the office. A treat at the end of the week. After work I was grateful for hopping on the treadmill for the longest run I have done since the race (9.3km) and then I got to spend the evening with my sister! We had sushi for dinner and watched a film while snacking on some chocolate and talking about some pretty powerful life stuff. Grateful for the time with one of my best friends.

photo 3 (1)

Saturday: We finally made it back to our girl’s Saturday morning tradition of coffee and breakfast at the farmers market! Coffee, chocolate banana bread, and a haul of fresh fruit and vegetables was a great start to the weekend. Chris and I spent the remainder of the day watching movies, napping and recovering from the week. I am grateful for such a soul nourishing day.

photo 4 (2)

Sunday: Today I got to see nearly all of my favourite people! I started the day with a great workout and then I met up with my friends Josie and Caroline for some much overdue girl talk; then it was off to the cinema to see Saving Mr Banks (highly recommended) with my grandmother, my sister, and my Mum; and I finished off the day with a family dinner with Casey, Shane (super proud of your uni achievements Shane), Chris, Mum and Dad. I was grateful to catch up with so many inspirational people who nourish my heart daily.

photo 2 (4)

The week ahead looks a little quieter, but in everyday somewhere there is something to be grateful for. Something that reminds you that the smallest, simplest acts of kindness or grace are the real meaning of life and love.

Tell me, dear reader, what are you grateful for this week?

Those doughnuts you see above? They will also feature on the blog this week: gluten free, low fat, and delicious they are a crowd pleaser. Watch this space!

4 thoughts on “Gratitude List – Week Four

  1. oh my gosh, i’m glad you made it thru quite a big week!! even the BEST stuff can be stressful in the planning and details. but looks like it all went smoothly and you had fun! Awww, those pics with you and Chris and your family are just too stinking cute. 🙂

Please share your thoughts

