Peach and Banana Smoothie

There are exciting things happening in my offline life at the moment. Well, maybe, hopefully, exciting things happening, and I can’t wait to share them with you when things are a little more official. Today though, I have an excitingly delicious recipe to share with you – and it’s super healthy too! During the week I rush out the door after a run and shower and eat my breakfast at work while answering the first emails of the day. It’s always the same routine – banana, almond milk, and gluten free cereal, or maybe banana and yoghurt. It’s not world shaking.

On the weekends, when I get a little more time for breakfast, I like to put some serious thought into what I start my eating day with. There is power in the first choice you make in the morning. Eating should never be a chore, but rather a well-considered thrice daily pleasure.

DSC01469

This weekend I started contemplating Saturday’s breakfast on Friday night. I wanted something light, summery and fresh to celebrate the weekend’s beautiful weather and fill me up. I wanted something healthy and filling, but I was not willing to compromised taste and pleasure either. A smoothie was in order.

Summery peaches, and ever present bananas are mixed with fat-free yoghurt, honey and vanilla in a smoothie almost too thick to suck up through a straw. It’s rich in protein, calcium, and B Vitamins; low in fat, naturally gluten free and vegetarian. It’s also like eating ice cream for breakfast – ice cream that you don’t have to feel guilty about (not that I make a practice of feeling guilty about ice cream). The other exciting part about this smoothie is that it was super easy to make – watch out week day breakfasts you are about to get a makeover!

DSC01467

Peach and Banana Smoothie (gluten free, healthy)

Serves 1 very hungry person, or 2 slightly less hungry people.

This makes a really large smoothie, so feel free to divide it among two people (or be greedy like me and glare at anyone who asks for a taste). You might also want to add a little more milk to make thin it out. I keep a few frozen bananas in my freezer at all times. When they reach the just overripe stage I peel, chop, bag and freeze them so they are ready for banana bread making or smoothies!

Ingredients

  • 1 medium banana (peeled, chopped and frozen)
  • 1 medium yellow flesh peach, chopped, pit discarded
  • 140g fat free plain Greek style yoghurt (I used Chobani)
  • ¼ cup low fat milk (you could use dairy, almond, or soy here) (increase to ½ cup for thinner consistency)
  • ½ teaspoon vanilla essence
  • 1 teaspoon honey

Method

  1. Place all ingredients into a blender.
  2. Blend on high until completely combined.
  3. If the smoothie is too thick add extra ¼ cup of milk and pulse to combine.
  4. Pour into a large glass, add straw, and enjoy!

Tell me dear reader, do your weekend breakfast choices differ from your weekday choices? Any favourite breakfast foods?

DSC01454

2 thoughts on “Peach and Banana Smoothie

  1. Pingback: Cozy Banana Smoothie Recipe | Nosh My Way

  2. Pingback: New Old Fashioned Banana Smoothie | Thoroughly Nourished Life

Please share your thoughts

