Nourished Life Gratitude List Week Thirty

I am struggling with how quickly the weeks seem to be flying past – just the other day (it seems) I was celebrating New Years on Casey and Matt’s verandah surrounded by my family and friends and now Chris and I are drawing up our Christmas 2013 shopping lists! I am really seeing the value in these weekly Gratitude Lists to ground me and help me reflect on what really made up my week, the little pieces of extraordinary among the ordinary, and remind me to pay attention to how I pass the hours of my days. Not to be too existential, but I am grateful for my Thoroughly Nourished Gratitude Lists.

Monday: I escaped the office early and headed out on my first official training run for the Cadbury Half Marathon 2014. I was grateful for the opportunity to sweat out my stress and to see some of my favourite people out running with their lovely pup (that would be Jess and Trent with Storm) when I was on my way home. I was grateful to feel so connected to where I live.

out of office

Tuesday: A post-gym-post-dinner laughter session thanks to Chris playing Jimmy Kimmel’s ‘Celebrities Read Mean Tweets’ series for me. Check it out and have a laugh.

Wednesday: Having some quiet time after a busy afternoon (work, post office, gym, doctor’s appointment) to finish the book I was reading. I can’t wait to share all the great books I have been reading lately – I promise a round-up very soon. You should see my summer reading list!

violet crumble brownies

Thursday: All I could think about at work this afternoon was getting out the door, grabbing some naughty ingredients from the grocery store and baking up a storm when I got home – and so I did! There is something in the creaming together of eggs and sugar, folding through melted chocolate and butter and watching the thick ribbons of colour dissolve into one another that just relaxes every fibre of my being. Try it for yourself – oh, and the brownies aren’t too bad either, apparently…

Friday: The sky was on fire this morning as I laced up my sneakers, and about half a mile in the sky started dropping small tears of rain. I rain through the down pour and was so grateful that I kept going because the reward was a clear head the rest of the day. We had a quiet day cocooned within the walls of our office while the sky intermittently opened up, and then I came home and snuggled on the couch with a cup of tea and a peanut butter Lindt ball.

Runpic 19_10_13

Saturday: My first ‘long run’ of training was only 9.75km long and when I woke the day practically begged for me to get out and onto the pavement. I treated myself to post-run cornflakes and banana, and then spent an obscene amount of money at the local natural foods store. Chris and I spent the remainder of the day snuggled on the couch watching movies – I definitely recommend checking out ‘The Internship‘ and ‘R.I.P.D.’.

Sunday: After a sleep-in-snuggle session I whipped up some orange and poppy seed pancakes (gluten free, and recipe coming soon!) and Jess and I had a breakfast date with Mormor (our grandmother). We gossiped (as women will do) and watched a childhood favourite – ‘Little Lord Fauntleroy‘ (a gorgeous and gentle classic).

I have some exciting baking projects planned for this week! It’s coming up to Halloween and next Monday is Pink Ribbon day. Expect some spooky cupcake treats, and some peony pretties to plate up and share at your own Pink Ribbon morning tea.

What are you grateful for this week? Any running gratitude? Baking gratitude? Any childhood favourite movies?

Please share your thoughts

