Introducing Thoroughly Nourished Finds

Sometimes I just need to tell people about something awesome/interesting/geeky/healthy that I have discovered. The internet is full of more interesting corners than an old curiousity shop, Sure, just like an old curiousity shop there is plenty of litter, but there are also some gems among the detritus, and really I’m a chatterbox and I can’t wait to share. Like a bowerbird I collect little bits and pieces, the shiny things, the dull and cracked things, the broken and beautiful, and I want to spill them out and show other people the amazing, creative, awesome flotsam and jetsam that catch in the next of my imagination.

Someone out there has to be interested in the odds and ends, notions and nonsense, miscellany and mischief, that nourishes my soul. So every fortnight I am going to bring you a little jewel box of Thoroughly Nourished Finds.

Let me present the inaugural edition of Thoroughly Nourished Finds:

I come from a family of design freaks. My Dad got me interested at an early age in architecture and design magazines, and even now I love perusing Artichoke magazine when I happen upon it at the newsagency. I have also attempted to visit the Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA) every time I have been in LA, and never quite managed to get there. You can understand my excitement when I discovered today that LACMA are putting on an exhibition of Californian Design from 1930-1965 at the Gallery of Modern Art (GOMA) right here in Brisbane! I can’t wait to go, and I’ve already roped my Dad in as co-conspirator.

I am in love with a new blog I discovered the other day ‘Half Baked Harvest’. This young lady is an awesome cook and baker, and her story is certainly inspiring. I can’t wait to start making some of the delicious recipes I have already pinned! Something to tantalise your tastebuds: Roasted Pumpkin Seed Hummus, Homemade Croissants (a labour, but a labour of love), Caprese Quinoa Grilled Stuffed Mushrooms with Balsamic Glaze, or perhaps Grilled Corn with Chipotle Lime and Cotija Cheese Butter (I love, love, love grilled corn!).

Now speaking of cooking, how cute is this tea towel from Kookery? The perfect thing for wrapping around a batch of Caramelised Onion and Cumin Scones (to be served with butter or cheddar, or both…) or a Honey, Apple, and Spice Loaf (for a long weekend baked breakfast)

And finally, after reading a beautiful quote on The Hoopla, I stumbled across writer Stephen Sparks, and his amazing website ‘Invisible Stories‘.

“Don’t say you want love. Say you want the morning light through a paint-flecked window; say you want a gust of wind scraping leaves along the pavement and hills rolling toward the sea; say you want to notice, in a tree you walk past every day, the ruins of a nest exposed as the leaves fall away; a slow afternoon of conversation in a shadowy bar; the smell of bread baking.”

Yes, yes, that kind of love. That kind of beautiful love that weaves into every crease and crevice and unlocks all that makes your knees weak and heart beat fast.

Happy Saturday friends. Tell me, anything interesting that you’ve found in this old curiousity shop lately?

One thought on “Introducing Thoroughly Nourished Finds

  1. Pingback: Thoroughly Nourished Finds – November Edition | Thoroughly Nourished Life

Please share your thoughts

