Okonomiyaki for One and Road Trip Excitement!

This weekend Chris and I are heading up the coast for the long weekend, and I for one am looking forward to doing these three things: one – a walk on the beach; two – drinking a glass of white wine at lunch time; and three – sleeping in on Monday morning. All week long thoughts of standing barefoot on the sand with cool spring waves ticking my feet have sustained me through meetings and the fever of office-moving activity. So on Friday night, instead of thinking of my commute home, I will get in the car, kick off my shoes and crank the radio while my darling and I hit the highway and make a getaway for the Sunshine Coast. I don’t care that Friday freeway traffic is hideous because at the end of that black tarmac is a little house by the water with a light on just for us, and I will be travelling the road with my favourite companion.

 

DSC00868

Now, enough about my excitement over the long weekend, and let’s get onto this recipe. Yesterday, while in a particularly long meeting with lots of old men in suits, I kept fantasising about something delicious for dinner, something that tasted naughty but wasn’t, and that could be prepared quickly after my evening run so that I could spend more time reading and lying on the couch serenading Mum and Chris with my own lyrics (just make ’em laugh, make ’em laugh…). The perfect cure for my quick-and-naughty-but-nice craving was okonomyaki, or really as close to it as I could make. Okonomiyaki are Japanese savoury pancakes whose fillings vary by region (or so Wikipedia says). My okonomiyaki are filled with pre-shredded vegetables and made with buckwheat flour and a touch of sesame oil and soy sauce, then topped with a cucumber and sesame seed salad.

DSC00858

This recipe makes the perfect amount for one, but I imagine it is quite easily doubled or tripled. I have even used this to make smaller okonomiyaki as appetisers for a dinner party. This is the perfect dinner to make on those nights when you want to pack in the vegetables, but still think you’re eating something a little naughty. In fact, perfect for pre-long weekend swimsuit eating! (Or, for a Monday long weekend brunch!)

DSC00864

Okonomiyaki for One

Serves One, but easily doubled. This is the gluten free version, but you can use wheat flour if not catering for those with allergies. I have recently been head-over-heels for Woolworths ‘Shredded Rainbow Salad’ and it makes this meal so easy to prepare. I also used Kewpie brand mayonnaise, which I fell in love with at my local sushi train. 

Ingredients

  • 1 large egg
  • 2 tablespoons cold water
  • 1/2 teaspoon sesame oil
  • 2 teaspoon soy sauce (check that it’s gluten free)
  • 2 tablespoons buckwheat flour
  • 1/2 medium red onion, finely diced
  • 1 cup (packed) pre-shredded salad vegetables (without any dressing)
  • 1 small cucumber
  • 1 teaspoon sesame seeds
  • Asian mayonnaise to serve

Method

  1. In a medium bowl whisk together the egg, cold water, sesame oil and one teaspoon of soy sauce. Whisk in the buckwheat flour until there are no lumps.
  2. Add diced onion and pre-shredded salad and mix until the batter covers all the vegetables.
  3. Heat a small non-stick frying pan over medium heat and spray with a little cooking oil. Spoon all the mixture into the frying pan and spread out to an even thickness.
  4. Cover pan with a lid and cook for 3-5 minutes. Flip over and cook for 3-5 minutes on the other side. I have found the easiest way to flip the okonomiyaki is to slide it out onto a dinner plate, cover the plate with the over-turned frying pan and flip the uncooked side onto the pan.
  5. While the pancake is cooking slice the cucumber on an angle and then slice the slices so that you have cucumber matchsticks. Mix cucumber with remaining one teaspoon soy sauce and the sesame seeds.
  6. Place okonomiyaki onto plate, top with cucumber salad and drizzle mayonnaise across the top.
  7. Enjoy.

DSC00871

I have found the best thing for keeping a body going while driving long distances is a well-selected playlist. I am usually a podcast girl, but to get in the mood for a relaxing beach weekend here are my picks.

I hope you all have a lovely long weekend! Any recommendations for my road trip play list?

4 thoughts on “Okonomiyaki for One and Road Trip Excitement!

  1. Have a great weekend away. Caloundra is a favourite of ours but it takes so long for us to get there. The Gold Coast is closer. I plan on spending the long weekend in the house relaxing and catching up on things that I don’t get done during my work week.
    Love your recipe. Might just try that one day.

  2. Pingback: Nourished Life Gratitude List Week Twenty-Eight | Thoroughly Nourished Life

  3. Pingback: Thoroughly Nourished Finds – November Edition | Thoroughly Nourished Life

Please share your thoughts

