Just Make These – Trust Me: Chunky Dunkers

I know, the title, it’s a little…forceful, but believe me, I do not speak with vehemence and command unless absolutely necessary. I have made these cookies twice in the past two weeks. Once, with wheat flour for a mid-week treat and as a thank you to our neighbours, and last night with gluten-free flours as the sweet send-off after a family dinner gathering. Last night in fact, the whole batch was devoured. I may have had a heavy hand in this. In fact, it may have come down to a close friend and I slowly picking at the skeleton of the orphan cookie (you know, the last one on the plate after all the others have been eaten) until I finally snatched up the last crumb and declared myself the greedy winner.

DSC00696

These are the cookies you crave when you are craving cookies. The moist just-cooked centres that completely satisfy the inner you that is torn between eating the whole bowl of raw cookie dough and actually being a grown-up and making sure most of it ends up on the baking tray and in the oven. You know, that inner part of you. I can’t seriously be the only one… Yesterday was a cookie craving kind of day. I was writing reports, which is an interesting learning process that I, strangely, enjoy. It started after lunch. My nice, sensible lunch, filled with protein and healthy carbohydrates to refuel me after a morning run and ride. I sat at my computer sipping a cup of green tea, rubbing the skin of my Sundowner apple (my favourite, and currently in season), while I tried to get my report-writing mojo back. All I could think was….mmm cookies… The first words I said to my mother when I got home? “I’m making cookies”. With a business-like tone and a nod to confirm my multi-calorie deal. An hour later, I emerged triumphant. A warm cookie and glass of almond milk in my hands. Yes, make these, make them now. Sharing the orphan cookie is entirely optional…

DSC00692

Chunky Dunkers (gluten free)

If you don’t need these to be gluten free you can use 250 grams of plain flour in place of the rice flour and buckwheat flour). You can also use milk chocolate or white if you don’t enjoy dark chocolate, or why not a mix of both? 

  • 50 grams butter, softened
  • 60 grams peanut butter (I used super crunchy, because why bother with anything else)
  • 50 grams caster sugar
  • 125 grams brown sugar
  • 1 ½ teaspoons vanilla essence
  • 1 large egg
  • 3 tablespoons milk
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 1 ½ teaspoons baking powder (ensure this is gluten free)
  • 100 grams white rice flour
  • 150 grams buckwheat flour
  • 150 grams dark chocolate, chopped

Method:

  1. Preheat your oven to 180C (350F) and line two large cookie sheets with baking paper.
  2. In a large bowl beat butter, peanut butter, sugars, and vanilla until light and fluffy. I used a wooden spoon, but you can use a hand-held mixer instead.
  3. Add egg and milk and beat well.
  4. Sift in salt, baking powder, and flours. Stir until well combined.
  5. Mix in chocolate until evenly distributed.
  6. Scoop out mounds of dough with a soup spoon (or an ice cream scoop if you want extra-chunky dunkers). Leave about 6 cm between cookies to allow for spreading.
  7. Bake for 12-15 minutes. Rotate halfway through cooking time.
  8. Remove from oven and allow cookies to cool completely.  (Except for the obligatory baker’s cookie, which must be snatched still warm from the tray and devoured in post-baking glory).

DSC00691

Tell me, dear reader, what is your favourite type of cookie? Are you a crunchy fan or a soft, doughy fan? Nuts or no nuts?

These are definitely my favourites: I am a choc-chip lover! And doughy all the way, except for shortbread, which must be crispy and crumbly. Nuts, definitely nuts.

8 thoughts on “Just Make These – Trust Me: Chunky Dunkers

  1. Pingback: Gratitude List Week Twenty-One | Thoroughly Nourished Life

  2. Pingback: Lunchbox Love: Recipe Round-Up and Inspiration | Thoroughly Nourished Life

  3. Pingback: Salted Cashew and White Chocolate Cookies (gluten free) | Thoroughly Nourished Life

  4. Pingback: Nourished Life Gratitude List: Week Thirty-Four | Thoroughly Nourished Life

  5. Pingback: Post Two Hundred and Top Ten Posts of All Time | Thoroughly Nourished Life

  6. Pingback: Gluten Free Christmas Baking and Gifting | Thoroughly Nourished Life

  7. Pingback: Happy Valentine’s Day | Thoroughly Nourished Life

Please share your thoughts

