Working 9-5, What a Way to Make a Livin’

Well, I am officially one week into my new working life, and I am really enjoying my job and my co-workers. Although I am working in a completely new field (transport manufacturing – just a little different to health…), my position is more on the spreadsheet wrangling, letter-writing, manual-proofreading type. We are a small team at the moment (only six in the office!) but we are about to begin a major new contract and our office is going to burgeon with nearly forty staff at the height of the contract. I am certainly glad I got on board early. I have the time to sit back and take in my surroundings, establish the way I work and cultivate relationships with people who will be leading the team through this exciting period.

Today's Secretary, 1961 (source)

Today’s Secretary, 1961
(source)

I think workplace culture is one of the most important aspects of going to work every day. I have been so fortunate to work in places where the people I am surrounded by are interesting and friendly and inspiring. My new workplace isn’t very different at all from my last job, even though the fields are nearly polar opposites.

I believe that if you can wake up in the morning and you don’t get a feeling of dread when you realise you are due in the office that day then life is good (I mean, obviously we all have alarm clock dread, but I think you understand what I mean). We spend so many hours at work across our lifespan; why not try to make them as happy as possible? We might not all be able to have our dream jobs, but we certainly can ensure that we work in places where we are respected as intelligent, independent individuals, and treated fairly and equally. We can create an environment in our office/factory/store/practice/clinic that inspires a friendly professional relationship between workmates. We don’t have to work for, or be, tyrannical bosses or scary secretaries (ahem, data administrators thank you very much) – we can invite open conversation with our co-workers, treat each other with respect, take on the tasks that are handed to us, ask for help when we need it, give help to others when they require it, and make 9-5 (or 7-4) as pleasant as possible for all concerned.

I hope everyone has a wonderful Friday – wherever you work.

Tell me, dear reader, what makes your workplace worthwhile? Any workplace horror stories?

Do you work in a big office/small office/ for yourself?

PS If you know where the title of this post comes from you get extra points!

One thought on “Working 9-5, What a Way to Make a Livin’

  1. really, who introduced you to that movie…hmmmm! Glad you are enjoying your job ..I can tell by the smile on your face each evening, and the way you dash out with your “go-Cup” in the morning xoxo

Please share your thoughts

