Almond Butter Shortbread (gluten free)

Lately I have been addicted to The Newsroom – the TV show about a TV show. Jeff Daniels stars as a news anchorman, Emily Mortimer is his senior producer, and these two have a tenuous relationship and heavy history that adds delicious background tension to the political and media-related commentary of the show. I bow down to Aaron Sorkin’s genius, from the opening score (beautifully composed by Thomas Newman) to the real news footage laced throughout each episode, every piece of the show comes together perfectly.

Last night as I was balancing a bowl of baked beans and broccoli (post-gym and pre-internship online work dinner) on my knees curled up under the covers of Chris’s bed I commented to Chris that every time we finishing watching an episode I feel heavier. I feel weighted down by the emotional interpretation and exposition of each news story that this fictional team of journalists and newsroom staffers present. The scope of the stories and the impact of the facts that the team choose to expose and those they choose to hide seem more comprehensible viewed through the lens of a period of hindsight and the filter of fiction.

(c) HBO

(c) HBO

In reality I am an aspiring news-junky. Chris and I watch a lot of American political satire (our favourite is The Colbert Report), and I listen to ABC radio and pick up The Australian newspaper whenever I can, but given the chance I will just read the arts section of the newspaper and listen to the developments of the day before I return to reading blog posts from my favourite writers on the web. Still, one day I will learn enough to make erudite arguments at cocktail parties (because I go to so many of those…) or contribute knowledge-based arguments across the dinner table at large gatherings (my people generally aren’t discussing politics when we could be discussing Proust’s madeleines or the latest from delicious. magazine). For now, I am happy being an eternal student of the news, and dedicated watcher of The Newsroom.

I am curious though, where do y’all get your news from? Are you dedicated to one news program over the other? The hours of 6-7:30pm in my parent’s house is dedicated to various news and current affairs programs, while I am more of a radio news person.

As the closing credits rolled across the screen last night I had long finished my dinner and finally I tip-toed out to the kitchen, put the kettle on, and snuck one of these Almond Butter Shortbreads to nibble alongside while I pondered the latest developments from my favourite (fictional) news team…and scrolled through some blogs of course…

All piled up and ready for afternoon tea.

All piled up and ready for afternoon tea.

Almond Butter Shortbread (gluten free)

These are crisp little biscuits that are perfect saucer-side to accompany a cup of tea or coffee. They keep well for about a week in an airtight container and are perfect with or without the chocolate drizzle, but come on, who can live without some chocolate drizzle on their shortbread…

Note: almond butter is available from most supermarkets now or your local health food shop. If you want, you can make your own, which I plan to do when my current pot of nut butter runs out – try this recipe from Martha Stewart.

Ingredients

  • 100 grams butter, softened
  • 75 grams almond butter
  • 100 grams raw sugar (turbinado sugar)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla essence
  • 150 grams buckwheat flour
  • 100 grams brown rice flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon cardamom
  • 100 grams dark chocolate, chopped

Method

  1. Preheat your oven to 180C (350F) and line two large cookie sheets with baking paper.
  2. In a large bowl cream together butter, almond butter, and raw sugar until light and fluffy.
  3. Add egg and vanilla and mix until combined.
  4. In a separate bowl sift together buckwheat and brown rice flours and cardamom.
  5. Add sifted flour mix to batter and combine. This is a very dry mixture so you may need to knead it with your hands to finish it off. Gather mix into a ball and place on a bench that is lightly sprinkled with some extra buckwheat flour.
  6. Roll out mix to 0.5-0.7 mm thickness and using desired cookie cutter (do you like my pretty birds?) cut out shapes and place on lined cookie sheets. Leave a few centimetres between each cookie so that they bake properly.
  7. Slide cookie sheets into preheated oven and cook for 10-12 minutes or until lightly golden on top.
  8. Remove and cool completely.
  9. Once cookies are completely cooled, melt chocolate in the microwave and drizzle over the cookies.
  10. Allow chocolate to set (if you can wait that long) and then serve.
My afternoon treat.

My afternoon treat.

 

Dear reader, are you a Newsroom fan? Are you  a political news junkie? Or celebrity news junkie?

3 thoughts on “Almond Butter Shortbread (gluten free)

  1. Lovely looking shortbread – I love the chocolate drizzle!

    Yeah we love Colbert and John Stewart, too funny. Haven’t checked out the Newsroom yet, but it has great reviews from what I’ve read.

  2. Pingback: Thoroughly Nourished Finds: It’s Beginning to Look A Lot Like Christmas Edition | Thoroughly Nourished Life

  3. Pingback: Gluten Free Christmas Baking and Gifting | Thoroughly Nourished Life

Please share your thoughts

