Almond Tea Cake with Rosewater Glaze

Stop Press: Once you’ve finished with this post, why not head over and check out my new Recipe page! So happy to have everything in one place for you all now.

Dark gloomy clouds settled over Brisbane early yesterday morning when Mum set off for a tea party for one of her friend’s birthdays. I was unable to attend, but instead I sent along this almond tea cake with rosewater glaze. The lady in question reminds me of an English rose. She has fantastic tales to tell of her childhood and teenage years in England. Tales of holidays in far-off places and the various jobs she and her family have had over the years. Her father is in his nineties and still taking world trips; I believe his last holiday took him on a cruise to Canada and Alaska. Now that’s the kind of ninety year old I want to be!

Almond cake1

I love listening to other people’s stories. One of the main reasons I have always wanted to be a writer is that I truly believe that everyone has a story to tell, and unless we write these tales down they will be lost to the mists of time. There is something fascinating about asking someone how they see the world, and trying to understand their view, how they stand in their truth, and how they choose to interact with life.

This cake is light, but moist and scented heavily with almond and vanilla. The perfect cake for a winter morning tea with a strong and sweet cup of English breakfast tea (Twinings of course). Enjoy.

Almond cake2

Almond Tea Cake with Rosewater Glaze

I made this cake with 6 egg yolks that I had leftover from batches of seven minute frosting. You can use 3 whole eggs in their place, but the results may differ slightly and it may require a little extra cooking time. I used an 8-inch ring pan – similar tins are available on Amazon or at your local cooking store. You can use a normal 8-inch cake tin; your cake will just be a little flatter. 

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup butter, at room temperature
  • 1 cup caster sugar
  • 6 egg yolks (or 3 whole eggs), at room temperature
  • 2/3 cup milk, at room temperature
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla essence
  • 1 teaspoon almond essence
  • 1 cup plain flour
  • 1/4 cup almond meal
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

Method:

  1. Preheat your oven to 170C (340F). Thoroughly grease and flour a 8-inch ring tin. Concentrate on the centre piece as you do not want to be fighting to get your cake off after it has baked.
  2. Sift together plain flour, almond meal, baking powder, and salt. Set aside.
  3. In a medium-size bowl cream butter and sugar until fluffy.
  4. Add egg yolks one at a time and beat well after each addition. Mix in vanilla and almond essences.
  5. Alternate adding flour and milk in three portions beginning and ending with flour.
  6. Pour into prepared pan and smooth the top.
  7. Bake in preheated oven for 30 minutes or until the top springs back when touched.
  8. Remove and allow to cool for ten minutes in the pan before gently turning out onto a cooling rack. Allow to cool completely before pouring over glaze and decorating.
  9. For the glaze: Whisk together 2 cups of icing sugar, 3-4 tablespoons water, and 1 teaspoon of rosewater until smooth. You can also add a few drops of pink food colouring to complete the English teatime effect.

Tell me dear reader, do you love listening to other people’s stories? Anyone in particular who enchants you? 

7 thoughts on “Almond Tea Cake with Rosewater Glaze

  1. Oh yum! I’m glad you have a recipe section up now. AND I love pink icing. I wish I could make (read: have the patience to make) little flowers like that.

    I like listening to you, of course (or would, if I were listening rather than reading). Oddly enough, my mother in law springs to mind. She came over form England before the Rake was born, and is constantly travelling and sharing stories from her job. I think she’s so different from me that I can’t help but be fascinated by her world.

    • I think that one of the biggest attractors for listening to people is that they have different experiences to you. The only problem is that I get jealous and want to go travelling again!

  2. Pingback: Nourished Life Gratitude List Week Twelve | Thoroughly Nourished Life

  3. Pingback: Post Two Hundred and Top Ten Posts of All Time | Thoroughly Nourished Life

  4. Pingback: Happy Valentine’s Day | Thoroughly Nourished Life

Please share your thoughts

