For Mama: Quickest Chocolate Cookies with Chocolate Frosting

My Mum’s favourite school holiday period was always the mid-year winter break. Two whole weeks of Mum and girls time when the days were short and crisp and the nights come early. Mum, Jess, and I would watch our favourite movies (including ‘First Wives Club’, ‘The Birdcage’, and ‘Under Siege’), or spend hours in silence as we were all caught up in our own books, or build huge Lego towns that took over half the lounge room. Those were our days. Some of the best days.

Last Friday Mum came into my room after her morning walk and climbed onto my bed, she said “I really miss snuggling with you and Jess in the mornings. Remember when you two would climb in with me after Dad had left for work and we would just lie there and cuddle. We had the whole day to do whatever we wanted,” she sighed “I know you two are grown up now, but sometimes I miss those winter mornings and our whole day movie marathons on school holidays.”

Mama, Jess, and Me.

Mama, Jess, and Me.

Mama, I miss them too sometimes. And even though I am (supposedly) ‘grown up’ now, I still need your hugs, they are  the meaning of home and comfort. I am so grateful that we had you at home for all those years while we were growing up. I still remember the flood of relief and happiness that would rush through me when I saw your face at the school gate when the afternoon bell rang. Whenever I am in doubt, scared, or frightened by the big wide world, your voice reminds me of the cloud of love that surrounds me and reassures me that everything will turn out okay in the end.

You are my favourite Miss Marple watching companion, my ‘person’ when I am troubled or when I have big fat exciting news, or when I want to daydream about the many possible futures that may lie ahead.

Mum/Mama/Mama Chickpea/Shrieking Trout (don’t ask, it’s a long story) – you are the meaning of love. I am pretty sure that if someone cut you open they would find at your core the meaning of love itself: sacrifice, total acceptance, unlimited affection, and always believing the very best of everyone. If I grow up to be half the woman you are, then I will be happy.

Thank you for being my Mama for 26 years, and Jess’s Mama for (nearly) 23 years. We love you more than we can show.

Happy Mother’s Day Mama.

Mmm...cookies...

Mmm…cookies…

Quickest Chocolate Cookies with Chocolate Frosting

This really is the easiest cookie recipe and came about by accident – namely my impatience with reading a recipe when I really just want to be in the kitchen up to my elbows in butter and sugar. The cookies are soft and lightly chocolatey and the frosting is super sweet. These are the perfect treat to say thanks to Mum on Mother’s Day.

Ingredients:

  • 80 grams butter, softened
  • 1/4 cup icing sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon hazelnut extract (if you can’t find this, use vanilla essence)
  • 3/4 cup plain flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 egg
  • 40 grams dark chocolate, melted and cooled

Method:

  1. Preheat your oven to 160C (320F) and line a large cookie sheet with baking paper.
  2. Place all ingredients in a large bowl and using a hand-held mixer beat all ingredients until smooth and shiny. (See I told you they were the quickest).
  3. Spoon mixture into a piping bag fitted with a medium-sized round tip and pipe equally sized rounds onto the lined baking sheet. If you do not have a piping bag simply spoon equally sized portions of dough onto the sheet. Leave about 3cm between cookies to allow for spreading during baking.
  4. Slide the filled tray into the oven and bake for 8-10 minutes, rotating the tray halfway through baking.
  5. Remove from the oven and place the tray on a cooling rack. Allow cookies to cool on the tray for 5 minutes, then remove and allow to cool completely before frosting and decorating.
  6. Once decorated, make a cup of tea and share a plate of biscuits with your Mum.

Chocolate Frosting

  • 2/3 cup butter, softened
  • 2 1/2 cups icing sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla essence
  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 2 tablespoons milk
  1. Place butter into a medium size bowl and using hand-held mixer beat until very soft and pale. This will take about 2-3 minutes.
  2. Add the remaining frosting ingredients and beat until smooth and lighter in colour.
  3. Spoon into a piping bag fitted with a small star-tip (or other desired shape) and create a swirl on top of the cooled cookies. Sprinkle with coloured sanding sugar or other decoration. If you do not have a piping bag you can spread the icing on with a small knife and then decorate as desired.

Tell me, dear reader, how will you treat your Mum this Mother’s Day? Are you celebrating with breakfast, lunch, dinner, a phone call?

To all my other awesome Mama friends (looking at you Jenelle) – Happy Mother’s Day for Sunday.

More cookies

More cookies

3 thoughts on “For Mama: Quickest Chocolate Cookies with Chocolate Frosting

  1. Thank you baby. You were right I did get teary but in a good way. I think you, Jess and I need to revisit the movie marathon cold winter day era sometime over winter. I am honoured to be “your person” just as you are mine. xoxox

  2. Happy Mother’s Day to your mamma!

    Lots of love Amy. I am so grateful that my mum was around for me too. It’s made a world of difference. I hope it’s a legacy we can pass on to our own children.

Please share your thoughts

