Monday Mantra: Plan B is Okay!

I have never failed a class, an exam, a course. I completed five years of a university degree that wasn’t quite the right fit because simply couldn’t quit. (I wouldn’t give up that time for anything of course; those years brought me my best friend Casey, and all the good things that have blossomed out of that friendship.)

This semester I took on a business subject in the course of my master’s degree. I thought it would be a good challenge, a way to stretch my neurons out of their comfort zone, and experience the growth that comes from such a venture. We are supposed to challenge ourselves in order to change we are told.

But sometimes a challenge isn’t right; sometimes we try to force ourselves outside our comfort zone and the challenge isn’t something that will help us grow, it just brings around frustration, stress, and unnecessary pain. I wasn’t quite sure when I first signed up for this class. I was already undecided when I walked into the first class, but I decided to stick it out because I’d made a commitment and cracked open the text book. Week after week my uncertainty grew; the course didn’t seem to be adding anything to the direction I want to take my career in.

Today I sat down to work on an assignment, and I realised that this class wasn’t making me happy (not just the assignment either). Believe me, I know that not all university classes are roses, sunshine, and lollipops – this isn’t my first rodeo after all. I took up my post-graduate studies as a way to extend my career, to move into a different sphere adjacent to my current position, to charge of my life again, and -most importantly – to make myself happy.

Another path is open to me, and withdrawing from this subject would mean I could pursue this path in the next semester of university. Quitting is not something that comes easily to me, and I am brilliant at the ‘self-shame guilt game’. I need to learn that when my Plan A fails there is no shame in taking Plan B, because sometimes Plan B is the right way to go.

So, dear reader, when have you tried Plan A, then had to move onto Plan B? Or Plan C/D/E/F?Β 

How do you cope with moving on from a challenge, or leaving Plan A behind?

7 thoughts on “Monday Mantra: Plan B is Okay!

  1. I am all about plan B, and C and D and E and F…even to Z. Story of my life…but you know what, it’s what I always want to do in life, so that’s all that counts, right? Heck yeah! Moving from one plan to the next is always hard, but I just remind myself that it is going to be better than whatever I was doing before, and if it’s not, then there is always the next plan…and the next. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Melissa, you are completely right. On to the next adventure, reach for the higher ground and make today even better than yesterday πŸ™‚

    • The guilt game is so easy to play, and replay over and over in your head. But it’s far healthier to reframe it as being able to make the best decision for yourself in the long term πŸ™‚

  2. this post also hits home for me…and i always laugh because of how similar i think we are. in school i used to be SO heck-bent on keeping that 4.0 but it took me some time, and a coach of mine saying, that i realized not EVERYTHING deserves to be striven away for at 120% percent.
    challenges are meant to be tackled, but only if the end result makes it all worth it. so GOOD FOR YOU in letting urself be okay with kicking this particular challenge to the curb. it’s not giving up, it’s having the maturity to realize that ur efforts can be well better placed towards an endeavor that, once achieved, will fill ur soul and spirit with pride. great post! πŸ™‚

  3. I can help you with this one! I am a firm believer if you are not enjoying it, or if you feel it’s not going to benefit you then quit, (or you can say prefer to move on if you hate to quit). It’s not really quitting, it’s more about making a decision as to what suits you at this current time. xo

  4. Pingback: Nourished Life Gratitude List Week Four | Thoroughly Nourished Life

Please share your thoughts

