Nourished Mind: On My Shelf in 2013

It’s been a while since my last bookshelf post so I thought now, with the early onslaught of wintery weather here in Brisbane, it might be an opportune time to share some of the best reads that have featured on my night stand or in my beach bag over the past couple of months.

My Berlin Kitchen: A Love Story with Recipes by Luisa Weiss (published by Viking Adult, 2012)

Luisa has the most beautiful blog at ‘The Wednesday Chef’ where she shares stories of her peripatetic early life and her family life now in Berlin. Reading ‘My Berlin Kitchen’ is like peaking into someone’s diary at different stages of their life, and watching a woman grow into her own soul. As the title states this is a love story, and Luisa’s has a wonderfully happy ending – filled with mouthwatering food of course. I savoured every page of this book. Now I’m just trying to figure out the right occasion to pull out her recipe for jam doughnuts – who am I kidding? Do you really need an occasion for doughnuts.

The Sprouted Kitchen: A Tastier Take on Whole Foods by Sara Forte. Photographed by Hugh Forte (published by Ten Speed Press, 2012).

I am a Sprouted Kitchen blog junkie. I will gladly admit to spending hours reading through posts that I have read before. Sara lures you to her kitchen table with tales of life and food and Hugh supplies delightful photos to accompany his wife’s words. I read this volume cover to cover when it arrived on my doorstep last year. One of my favourite recipes so far is toasted millet with arugula, quick pickled onions and goat cheese, and I can’t wait to make a winter supper featuring the braised white beans and leeks.

The Omnivore’s Dilemma: A Natural History of Four Meals by Michael Pollan (published by Penguin, 2007)

A classic that I am ashamed to admit that I hadn’t read yet. Michael Pollan’s ‘In Defense of Food: An Eater’s Manifesto‘ was the book that changed my shopping habits from supermarket to farmer’s market, which has become such an important and enriching weekly ritual. The Omnivore’s Dilemma is divided into three main sections where Pollan traces his meal from paddock (be that an industrial corn field, a large-scale organic production, a pasture where everything is connected, or a forest field) to plate and accounts for the costs, both moral and environmental, along the way. A must-read for those who are endlessly curious about our food systems, or just want to think a little more deeply about the eternal question: what’s for dinner?

A Game of Throne: Book One of ‘A Song of Ice and Fire by George R.R. Martin (published by Bantam Books, 1996)

I’m only two-hundred pages into this first tome in a series of seven, but I am already in love with Martin’s depth of description and the way he weaves the stories of multiple characters across a vast world into a tangled-yet-intimate epic. This is the book that I have been needing for a long time; a juicy epic fantasy that I can’t put down. Thank you for a perfect Valentine’s Day present Chris.

In other book related news, I have just started my internship with the Australian Writer’s Marketplace at The Queensland Writer’s Centre! I am so lucky to be spending the next six months dabbling in the real world of writing and authors. I can’t wait to see what I’ll learn.

Queensland State Library

Queensland State Library

So dear reader, what is sitting on your bedside table at the moment, or keeping you company on your commute?

14 thoughts on “Nourished Mind: On My Shelf in 2013

  1. I haven’t read the others, but I can definitely recommend Game of Thrones. Hopefully it won’t be another seven years before the next volume…

    I’m reading Crime and Punishment at the moment. It’s taking weeks. I don’t even have a strong opinion on it!

    PS congrats on the internship, that’s fantastic news!

    • Oh Crime and Punishment is sitting on my bookshelf staring me down! Good luck with trudging through that tome – I’ll have to work up my courage before I tackle it…a winter project perhaps?
      I’m loving the internship too, so nice finally be working in a creative space 🙂

  2. That first book sounds amazing – I am going to check it out. I’m currently reading a book about a woman’s life in Paris for a year and her obsession with sweets – cute. A co-worker just sent me Liza Gibbon’s new book, Take 2, it’s about recreating your life and it is just what the Doctor ordered. xo

    • It’s great how sometimes books come into our lives at exactly the right moment. There are so many volumes gracing my shelves that have changed me for the better, or helped me to make decisions at important points. I hope Take 2 is one of those for you Debby 🙂

  3. I love Sprouted Kitchen and Wednesday Chef as well!! And congratulations on what looks to be a sweet gig 🙂 🙂

    I’m participating in the Australian Women’s Writers Challenge where I’ve committed to read 5 books written by Australian women and have just finished Holier than Thou by Laura Buzo which I wasn’t keen on that much. However am looking forward to the rest of my book list.

    • I saw this challenge too! What a great idea for getting our lesser-known Australian Women authors out in the public eye! Let me know who you enjoy best, I’ll have to add them to my list 🙂

  4. eeek…i’ve been such a SLACKER on reading lately! i’ve not read any of these but i did see the first season that HBO did on Game of Thrones and really liked it. i would assume the books to be better, so i should probably get on that. 🙂 sadly, i can’t say i’d ever really be able to put into effect much of anything i read in a cook/recipe book. 😛

    • I haven’t seen the show yet! But I am super keen after reading the first book.
      As for cooking, I’ll cook for you and you can keep me entertained with beautiful runner art 🙂

  5. Congratulations on the internship!

    You make me feel so lazy in the reading department. I’m at NOTHING in terms of reading right now. Does the accounting count? (Not a pun, I swear).

    I’m like Cait and have watched Game of Thrones…but haven’t read it. Whoops.

    • I haven’t watched it yet! Chris has promised a screening session at some point, right now I am just enjoying sinking into the words. I feel like fun reading is about to take a back seat when I start uni again tomorrow 🙂

  6. Ohhh Chris you out did yourself with that V day pressie! I loved Game of Thrones and I am definitely going to take the time to read that book. Maybe a post Canberra project I think. Unfortunately there is not much leisure reading happening here. I am struggling to stay up to date with my favourite runners/bloggers :=(

    So happy for your internship …sounds like the start of something great!!!!

    • He certainly spoiled me that’s for sure 🙂
      At the moment it sounds like you are busy getting ready for Canberra, celebrating Little A’s achievements, and getting back into work. Reading will come when you have a little more time, and books make the best friends because they always wait for you.

  7. Pingback: Taking the Morning Train | Thoroughly Nourished Life

  8. Pingback: Nourished Mind: On My Shelf Autumn Edition | Thoroughly Nourished Life

Please share your thoughts

