What I Believe In

A truly nourished life surely includes being able to anchor yourself to the world by believing in something. To have a thoroughly nourished heart, mind, and soul you have to put them to good use by looking at the world and dedicating them to standing for a cause, loving in the name of something, or having something to turn to when all else is in flux.

I may have trouble believing in some things, like why matching socks are inherently virtuous (sorry Mum and Dad), or that reality television is a necessary and unavoidable evil in modern society (um, My Big Fat Gypsy Wedding – what?), but there are some things that I cannot question, beliefs that nourish my heart, mind, and soul. The glue that bids the parts of me together and make me Amy.

  • Paying it forward. A family credo learnt at the side of my parents, and a way of life that I hope I am able to express every chance I get. When you give something good, something of yourself, the universe sees fit to pay you back in kind. The results may not always be immediate, but they will come.
  • Messy bed, messy head. Start the day right. Be ready and prepared to face the glory of being gifted another day on this planet.
  • Butter. I believe in butter. With a Danish mother, and a country Tasmania born and raised father, how could I not believe in butter? It goes a little deeper than that though. Butter to me is the start of wonderful things. My inner peace begins with the line : cream butter and sugar together. Butter is the beginning of a celebration; a recognition of the need to indulge sometimes.; a way to show people you love them.
  • Every single person is worthy of respect and dignity. During my travels, through my work as a dietetic counsellor, and my many years spent as a retail assistant, I have a spectrum of souls: people who have walked hard paths, people who have danced easily over the earth, and some who have had to crawl to get anywhere.  It doesn’t matter if that person is a millionaire with a private jet, or a pimply-faced teenager with a beat-up Nissan: each person faces their own challenges.
  • Approach people believing that human nature is basically good. It makes life so much easier and happier. Believe in your fellow person, and you will never walk alone.
  • There really is only the little things. Although the big things make life exciting, the weddings, graduations, the travel, the little things are life. The string of everyday occurrences add up to months, years, decades, of life. They are the foundation layers, the enrichment, the nourishment, of our souls. The cups of tea, the good china on a Wednesday, the hugs when you walk through the door, the dog walking, dinner making, messy hair Monday mornings – they are life.
  • Choose your moments and take them. Throughout spring and summer my walk to and from work changes route just so that I can stop by a large gardenia bush for a few moments and breathe in the heady perfume. It reminds me of my grandmother (hi Mormor) and I find a great sense of calm in that. You need to stop and smell the gardenias when you get the chance, take a moment, see where it leads, let it feed you for the times when the moments seem sparse and separated.

Just a little peek into the fabric of who I am, and the beliefs that weave me together.

Tell me, dear readers, what do you believe in? What glues you together?

5 thoughts on “What I Believe In

  1. Mmm, odd socks are perfect in their own way. I completely agree with you about the little things that make life what it is. After a year with a few of those big goals, it’s the little moments, the friendships I have, and the time spent talking, laughing and eating that bind me. Thanks Amy, I love the way you see the world.

  2. or how about wearing those running socks that have L and R on them but going ‘wild’ and putting L’s on BOTH feet!! say wat?!!? 😉 this post is wonderful because ultimately i believe in being a kind, good person. the paying it forward, just as you noted, and doing my best to give people the benefit of a doubt unless they prove they aren’t exactly the ‘nice’ person i’d hoped. it makes me naive i’m sure, but i think it helps me give the smile to the stranger and do my best to be kind. 🙂

  3. I love this! I wish Big A could embrace odd socks ;=) I think how we perceive the world has the biggest impact on how we experience it so all for assuming the best in everyone.

    Paying it forward is such a lovely concept and I agree about the little moments. A little bit like running… The Races (the big moments) are nothing compared to all the tireless and memorable moments that make up the in between (the little moments).

  4. i stopped a second when you mentioned believing people are inherently good. i think a lot of people cringe when they find out i work in a prison and enjoy helping those individuals but in my eyes they have already been punished and i want to treat them like today could be the day they start over. also a lot of the individuals i work with are very mentally ill and have had few if any people in their lives…if i can make even a small difference i want to. plus it is just easier to get through my day when i can treat them like individuals and real people than if i spend my day yelling at them just because i can.

    • I admire the work you do Julia and I believe it is so valuable. I think that when you come to these people with no assumptions, no judgment you are more of a help to them. You are their chance to start and begin again.
      What a wonderful spirit you have to be drawn to this work, to these people who need you.

Please share your thoughts

