If you really knew me…

You would know that I always use the pedestrian crossing because I am incredibly unlucky when it comes to oncoming traffic.

You would see that I get dressed up to go to the local shopping centre for baking ingredients, because there is nothing wrong with wearing heels when you just need some butter and sugar.

It’s called joie de vivre.

You might have seen that I love to dance, even though I’m not very good, and I am not afraid to bust out some moves in the middle of Target.

You would know that I never eat blue m&ms, and that all other m&ms must be consumed in colour pairs.

You would keep the tissues handy because I cry in an instant: an inspiring television ad, a line of poetry, a memory traipsing across my mind elicited by a strain of music.

You would know that I always write in pink pen because it makes me happy. That I know all the words to Piano man, American pie, and Country roads.

You would know that I am a hug-giver, an arm-toucher: I seek to connect through texture.

You would realise that when I do laundry, make dinner, clean the dishes, I am saying I care, for you.

You would know that deep in secret places the fact that you read my words counts more than anything else some days.

If you really knew me, you would know that when I offer you something I have cooked, I am offering you my heart.

The thousands of little things that we innately or overtly know about each other are real connection. They are the riches of everyday life, the anchor for memories, connection, and affection. Open your eyes to the little things about the people around you, what do you really notice about them, what do you really know?

Mocha Pecan Biscotti

This recipe was adapted from the luminous Dorie Greenspan’s volume ‘Baking: from my home to yours’. 
To roast the pecans: spread over a cookie sheet and bake at 180°C for about 8-10 minutes. Then remove from oven and allow to cool before proceeding with the rest of the recipe.
This recipe makes about 24 biscotti, but this will depend on how thickly you cut the dough before its second baking. I prefer a thicker biscuit, but you may have a penchant for a lighter wafer of mocha pecan goodness.

 Ingredients

  • 1 cup plain flour
  • 1 cup wholemeal plain flour
  • 1/2 cup cocoa powder
  • 2 teaspoons finely ground espresso beans
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 80 grams butter, softened
  • 3/4 cup caster sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup roasted pecans (see note), chopped
  • 100 grams dark chocolate, chopped
  • For finishing: 50 grams of milk chocolate

 Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°C and line two cookie sheets with baking paper.
  2. In a medium bowl whisk together flours, cocoa powder, espresso beans, baking soda, baking powder, and salt. Set aside.
  3. Fit a handheld mixer with the paddle blades. On medium speed beat together butter and sugar in a large bowl until light and fluffy.
  4. Add eggs and vanilla and beat together until thick – about two minutes.
  5. Reduce mixer speed to low and add flour mixture in three lots. The dough will thicken rather quickly and you may need to finish mixing it by hand.
  6. Add chopped chocolate and roasted pecans and use a wooden spoon to mix these additions through the biscuit dough.
  7. Divide dough into two balls. Place each on a baking sheet and shape them into logs about 24cm long and 10cm wide.
  8. Bake logs in the preheated oven for about 25 minutes. The surface may crack and this is fine.
  9. Take logs out and leave the oven on. Cool the biscotti logs for about 20-30 minutes.
  10. Slice logs into pieces about 2cm thick (see header note). Stand each slice back onto baking tray and the bake again for about 10 minutes.
  11. Remove biscotti from oven and allow to cool completely.
  12. To finish: place milk chocolate into a small glass bowl and melt in the microwave in two 20-second bursts. Drizzle across cooled biscotti and allow to set.

These biscuits will keep in a well-sealed container on the bench for about a week. I doubt they will last this long though as they are the perfect accompaniment to a mid-morning cup of coffee. Perfect for dunking in a mug of hot chocolate as an after dinner treat, and could even be acceptable as a little bit naughty Sunday morning breakfast with an espresso. They also wrap up very well as a gift for someone you love.

Tell me dear reader, what would you want someone to really know about you?

15 thoughts on “If you really knew me…

  1. Well dear friend…I would first need you to know that we eat m&ms very similar! 🙂 this treat sounds amazing…I have never made biscotti before! I’d say that I’d like people to know I love to be social and spend time with friends but sometimes I like to hide away all weekend curled up with my pups and a good book. The sunshine makes me smile. I like to listen to even numbered volumes on the television and radio. I love to take any recipe and make it my own by substituting, adding, subtracting, etc…till its just right!

    • Thank you Julia! The biscotti were so much easier to make than I thought they would be 🙂
      The sunshine makes me smile too, although I crave a rainy day every now and again because it gets so hot here in the summer! I love to spend my weekends curled up with Molly too 🙂 xx

  2. This was so beautifully written. I’ve read a lot of “If you really knew me” posts but none as honest, endearing and charming at this. I’m a crier too. Infomercials.Commercials. I’ll sit there in tears. My husband used to think it was just the most bizarre thing ever! And I’m definitely going to have to try this biscotti recipe. I’ve never made them before 🙂

    • Thank you! Glad to know it isn’t just me keeping Kleenex in business 🙂
      The biscotti were so much easier than I thought they would be 🙂 Enjoy!

  3. oh i love getting to kno u more! hehe…i kno the words to American Pie too! 🙂 and i’m glad we can both dance with reckless abandon knowing full well we stink and don’t exactly have the move! 😉

    something about me, i really love cream cheese on english muffins every morning. but i spread the VAST majority of the cream cheese on the last bite that i eat so that it’s like this mountain of CC atop a bite of english muffin. 😛

    • Oh! I completely get the cream cheese thing!! I have it on top rice cakes for breakfast sometimes and the last piece is always 20% rice cake 80% cream cheese 🙂
      Now I have someone to pull out the daggy dance moves with while I sing American Pie! Karaoke date??

  4. Such a beautiful post and such a beautiful person. I love the Pink Pen thing.

    Something about me – Little things bring me so much joy. . Fresh flowers, a glasshouse candle burning or just the right music can make my day. Simple pleasures.

    I love that you show your love with acts of service….Such a beautiful soul! :=)

  5. Pingback: Angel in the Office: Almond, White Chocolate, and Cranberry Biscotti | Thoroughly Nourished Life

  6. Pingback: Snickerdoodles | Thoroughly Nourished Life

Please share your thoughts

