Sweet Sunday: Chocolate ‘Man-cakes’

I dream about food. In fact, sometimes my waking dreams about food are so intense that I grab my phone and search for a recipe just to be sure that there is such a delicious thing in existence, unable to trust the ethereal matter that wove itself around my brain in my non-waking hours.

Sunday morning was such a day. I woke with a yen to make pancakes. Not for me, I am a rather stubbornly boring breakfast eater and will find something I like and latch onto it, consuming the same rice porridge for about six months until I happen to suddenly become enamoured of another a.m. food. No, these pancakes were intended for my Dad. The man who will unashamedly layer ice-cream and whipped cream onto his breakfast and devour it with gusto. He is my favourite pancake eater, and it has been a while since I made this breakfast treat. So Chocolate ‘Man-cakes’ were born.

Chocolate pancakes

Stack ’em high

These fluffy creations are a subtle merging of cocoa and a hint of coffee and are brilliant when slathered with jam, caramel sauce, chocolate sauce, Nutella, or in true Dad-fashion, with ice cream and whipped cream.

Chocolate ‘Man-cakes’

Ingredients

1 1/4 cups plain flour

1/4 cup cocoa powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 3/4 teaspoons baking powder

4 tablespoons caster sugar

1 1/4 cups milk

1 teaspoon vanilla

1/2 teaspoon instant coffee powder

2 eggs, separated

Method

  1. In a bowl sift together flour, cocoa powder, salt, baking powder, and 3 tablespoons sugar.
  2. Dissolve coffee powder in a small amount of the milk, then add the rest of the milk. To this add the egg yolks and vanilla and beat well to combine.
  3. Place egg whites in a bowl with 1 tablespoon sugar and beat to medium soft peaks.
  4. Add milk mixture to flour mixture and whisk until smooth.
  5. Add a third of the egg white mixture to the batter and fold until incorporated. Then fold in the remaining egg whites.
  6. Heat a large fry pan and spray with oil. Pour about 1/3 cup of batter onto pan.
  7. Bubbles will begin to appear on the surface of the mixture. When most bubbles have broken then flip the pancake and cook on the other side for 30 seconds.
  8. Place cooked pancakes on a plate and keep this covered while cooking the rest of the mixture.
  9. Serve with ice cream, whipped cream, fruit, jam, or any kind of delicious sauce you have in the cupboard!

Oh, yeah

The rest of our sweet Sunday was spent reclining and reading a stack of second hand food magazines that I unearthed on Saturday. In the afternoon Jess and I went for a wonderful walk in between the rain showers. Now, I’m off to browse some more fabulous food to fuel my dreams…

One thought on “Sweet Sunday: Chocolate ‘Man-cakes’

  1. haha! i think about food all the time as well. for one…i just got finished with my lunch and am already pondering what i may eat for dinner;) i am also quite stuck in my ways when it comes to breakfast. i eat the same oats every day…but on Sundays I love treating myself to pancakes:)

Please share your thoughts

