Sweet Sunday: Prune and Almond Muffins

I have a confession.

Though I may appear to be in my twenties, and my birth certificate firmly dates me as an ’80s child, I am about 90 years of age inside. My sister constantly reminds me that it is not normal for a woman my age to be as in love with  prunes, early bedtimes, walking holidays and Miss Marple re-runs as I am.

Four freshly baked muffins

Fresh from the oven

Although I struggle to find defence for some of my other more elderly habits I stand up for the prune; not only do they delight the taste buds, prunes are also high in dietary fibre and vitamin C and contain more antioxidants than blueberries. All these health benefits aside I believe when it comes to sweet decadence in the form of dried fruit, there is little to challenge the prune. With its rich wine flavour and moist molasses texture the humble and often ridiculed prune is a king among dried fruits.

Once you try these muffins, you might just agree. Now, I am off to slather one in jam and watch ‘The 4.50 from Paddington’ while sipping a cup of tea and knitting myself a new scarf.

Close up of muffin

Golden and delicious

Prune and Almond Muffins (Gluten Free)

Almonds and prunes are old friends, and found in combination in many dishes including tagines, cakes and pudding. In these earthy gluten free muffins almonds are well represented by the richness of almond meal and the prunes dot the vanilla scented batter without weighing it down.


Ingredients

    • 80 grams brown rice flour
    • 60 grams almond meal
    • 100 grams buckwheat flour
    • 90 grams brown sugar
    • 1 tsp salt
    • 2 tsp baking powder
    • 250mL milk
    • 2 large eggs
    • 1 tsp vanilla bean paste
    • 75 grams prunes, pitted and chopped

Method:

  1. Preheat your oven to 200°C  (400°F) and line a 12 hole muffin tin (1/2 cup capacity).
  2. Place a large bowl on your kitchen scale and weigh in the brown rice flour, almond meal, buckwheat flour and brown sugar. Add salt and baking powder. Mix together using a whisk as it helps to aerate and makes it easy to break up any lumps of sugar.
  3. In a small bowl beat together milk, eggs and vanilla bean paste.
  4. Pour wet ingredients into flour mixture and mix until just combined. Then add chopped prunes and stir through batter.
  5. Divide batter evenly among muffin cups and place in oven. Bake for 12-15 minutes or until muffins are golden on top and bounce back when lightly pressed.
Close shot of crumbly muffin.

Crumbly goodness.

Sweet Sunday will be a regularly featured post on Thoroughly Nourished Life!

Dear reader, tell me what your elderly obsessions are ?

2 thoughts on “Sweet Sunday: Prune and Almond Muffins

  1. oh my gosh, i am a total cross-word puzzle addict!! i get so much heat from my family and they always buy me a big book of them for xmas…hehe. 🙂 hey, i’ll also back the prune, and honestly i’d eat anything u bake, i trust u that much. have beautiful morning over yonder! 🙂

Please share your thoughts

